18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

A new, eco-friendly Olympic House

The new Olympic House is the first international headquarters - and the second building worldwide - to achieve the highest level of the Swiss Sustainable Building Standard (SNBS). It has also been awarded Swiss Minergie P certification for low-energy buildings. It is the first building to receive all three certifications, and the first in Switzerland to achieve LEED platinum v4.

Located in Lausanne and designed by 3XN+IttenBrechbühl, the Olympic House brings together all IOC staff under one roof. The new building will serve as a meeting place for the entire Olympic Movement. It is a private investment in sustainability, operational efficiency, local economy and development. 

With its shape inspired by the movement of an athlete, the Olympic House combines the highest standards of architectural design with a holistic approach to sustainability. It incorporates rigorous criteria for energy and water efficiency, while optimizing the health and well-being of its users. It pushes the boundaries of sustainability and has also transformed the market, particularly in terms of building materials and furnishings, which comply with strict environmental standards. 

"The Olympic House combines symbolism, functionality and sustainability"... " With the achievement of unparalleled levels, it is a testament to how the IOC is moving from words to deeds when it comes to sustainability, serving as a source of inspiration for the entire Olympic Movement." H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco, Chairman of the IOC Sustainability and Legacy Commission

The Olympic House has been awarded Platinum status, the highest level of certification in the international LEED green building program. According to the U.S. Green Building Council, the organization behind the certification, the Olympic House scored the highest number of points (93) of all LEED v4-certified new buildings to date. 

With over 98,000 registered and certified projects in 175 countries and territories, LEED(Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification is the world's most widely used green building program and an international symbol of excellence in sustainability. This certification guarantees that a building reduces carbon emissions and conserves resources, while making sustainable practices a priority and creating a healthier environment. Platinum is the highest level of certification.  

The new headquarters of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) has been awarded three of the most demanding certifications for sustainable construction.

"We are proud that Olympic House, as the new headquarters of the Olympic Movement, has received such prestigious Swiss and international certifications, recognizing our strong commitment to sustainability, which is one of the three pillars of Olympic Agenda 2020," said IOC President Thomas Bach. "From the launch of the architectural competition through to the construction, energy management and furnishings, the IOC has focused first and foremost on the adoption of sustainable solutions. We are delighted that our investment in sustainability has enabled us to achieve these three certifications."

In all, 80% of the investment in the building was made with local suppliers, and over 95% of the materials from the former IOC headquarters were reused or recycled. Solar panels and heat pumps using water from Lake Geneva provide renewable energy for the building, which is expected to consume 35% less energy and 60% less water than a conventional new build. 

The project involved unprecedented collaboration between local authorities, suppliers, academics and IOC business partners.

Sustainability is one of the three pillars of the Olympic Agenda 2020 - the strategic roadmap for the future of the Olympic Movement. In line with this Agenda, the IOC is committed to integrating sustainability principles into all its operations - whether as an organization, as the owner of the Olympic Games, or as the leader of the Olympic Movement. 

The official inauguration of the Olympic House will take place on Olympic Day, June 23, 2019.

Une nouvelle Maison Olympique à caractère écologique

0
96
Vue aérienne de la nouvelle Maison olympique sise à Lausanne. Crédit photo: Luca Delachaux
La nouvelle Maison Olympique est le premier siège international – et le deuxième bâtiment à l’échelle mondiale – à obtenir le niveau le plus élevé du Standard de construction durable suisse (SNBS). Elle a par ailleurs reçu la certification suisse Minergie P décernée aux bâtiments à faible consommation énergétique. Elle est le premier bâtiment à recevoir ces trois certifications et le premier de Suisse à obtenir le LEED platine v4.

Située à Lausanne et conçue par 3XN+IttenBrechbühl, la Maison Olympique rassemble tout le personnel du CIO sous un seul et même toit. Le nouveau bâtiment servira de lieu de rencontre à l’ensemble du Mouvement olympique. C’est un investissement privé dans la durabilité, l’efficacité opérationnelle, l’économie locale et le développement. 

Avec sa forme inspirée du mouvement d’un athlète, la Maison Olympique conjugue les normes les plus élevées en matière de conception architecturale, tout en adoptant une approche holistique de la durabilité. Elle intègre des critères rigoureux d’efficacité énergétique et d’économie d’eau, tout en optimisant la santé et le bien-être de ses utilisateurs. Elle repousse les limites de la durabilité et a aussi transformé le marché, notamment s’agissant des matériaux de construction et du mobilier, lesquels respectent des normes environnementales strictes. 

« La Maison Olympique associe symbolisme, fonctionnalité et durabilité »… « Avec l’obtention de niveaux inégalés, elle témoigne de la manière dont le CIO passe de la parole aux actes en matière de durabilité, servant ainsi de source d’inspiration à l’ensemble du Mouvement olympique. »  S.A.S. le Prince Albert II de Monaco, Président de la commission durabilité et héritage du CIO

La Maison Olympique s’est vu attribuer le niveau platine, soit le plus haut niveau de certification du programme international LEED pour les constructions écologiques. Selon le U.S. Green Building Council, l’organisme à l’origine de cette certification, la Maison Olympique a obtenu le plus grand nombre de points (93) de tous les bâtiments neufs certifiés LEED v4 à ce jour. 

Avec plus de 98.000 projets enregistrés et certifiés dans 175 pays et territoires, la certification LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) est le programme de construction écologique le plus utilisé dans le monde et un symbole international d’excellence en matière de durabilité. Cette certification garantit qu’un bâtiment réduit ses émissions de carbone et préserve les ressources, tout en faisant des pratiques durables une priorité et en créant un environnement plus sain. Le niveau platine est le niveau de certification le plus élevé.  

Le nouveau siège du Comité International Olympique (CIO), a reçu trois des certifications les plus exigeantes décernées aux constructions durables.

« Nous sommes fiers que la Maison Olympique, en tant que nouveau siège du Mouvement olympique, ait reçu des certifications suisse et internationale aussi prestigieuses, reconnaissant notre solide engagement en faveur de la durabilité qui est l’un des trois piliers de l’Agenda olympique 2020 », a déclaré Thomas Bach, président du CIO. « Depuis le lancement du concours d’architecture jusqu’à la construction, la gestion de l’énergie et l’ameublement, le CIO s’est avant tout attaché à l’adoption de solutions durables. Nous sommes ravis que notre investissement dans le domaine de la durabilité nous ait permis d’obtenir ces trois certifications. »

En tout, 80 % des investissements dans le bâtiment ont été engagés auprès de fournisseurs locaux et plus de 95 % des matériaux de l’ancien siège du CIO ont été réutilisés ou recyclés. Des panneaux solaires et des pompes à chaleur utilisant l’eau du lac Léman fournissent de l’énergie renouvelable au bâtiment, lequel devrait consommer 35 % d’énergie en moins et 60 % d’eau en moins qu’une nouvelle construction classique. 

Le projet a donné lieu à une collaboration sans précèdent entre les autorités locales, les fournisseurs, les universitaires et les partenaires commerciaux du CIO.

La durabilité est l’un des trois piliers de l’Agenda olympique 2020 – la feuille de route stratégique pour l’avenir du Mouvement olympique. Dans le droit fil de cet Agenda, le CIO veille à intégrer les principes de durabilité dans toutes ses opérations – que ce soit en tant qu’organisation, propriétaire des Jeux Olympiques ou chef de file du Mouvement olympique. 

L’inauguration officielle de la Maison Olympique aura lieu le 23 juin 2019, date de la Journée olympique.