10.5 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Olympic truce: new dates

The United Nations General Assembly has confirmed that the Olympic Truce for the Tokyo 2020 Games will now be observed from July 16, 2021 to September 12, 2021. With the postponement, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, of the Games of the XXXII Olympiad to 2021, the dates of the Truce have been modified accordingly.  

The Ekecheira, an ancient Greek tradition established to ensure the cessation of hostilities, enabled athletes and spectators to take part in the Olympic Games in complete safety. It was customary for all conflicts to cease for the duration of this truce, which ran from the seventh day before the opening of the Games to the seventh day after their closing.

Adopted unanimously by 186 of the 193 member states of the United Nations in December 2019, the UN resolution entitled "Building a peaceful and better world through sport and the Olympic ideal" reaffirms that the Olympic values of peace, solidarity and respect are as important in today's world as they were over 3,000 years ago.

"Through their support, governments around the world are once again underlining the unifying power of the Olympic Games." Thomas Bach, President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC)

According to the IOC President, this decision is a strong sign of confidence that these Olympic Games will be the light at the end of the dark tunnel in which humanity currently finds itself. "We are very grateful to all the governments for this expression of confidence in the Olympic Games," he said. Thomas Bach also pointed out that the athletes of the 206 National Olympic Committees and the Olympic Refugee Team formed by the IOC all enjoy the same rights and mutual respect, with the same rules applied to all without discrimination.

"We are pleased that the United Nations General Assembly has approved the change of dates to observe the Olympic Truce, in line with the new dates planned for the Tokyo 2020 Games." Yoshiro Mori, President of the Tokyo 2020 Organizing Committee

The main objectives pursued by the IOC within the framework of the Olympic Truce are to mobilize young people to promote the Olympic ideal, to use sport to help build bridges between communities in conflict and, more generally, to create conditions conducive to dialogue and reconciliation.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games will be held from July 23 to August 8, 2021, followed by the Paralympic Games from August 24 to September 5, 2021.

Trêve olympique: nouvelles dates

0
84
IOC President Bach chairs the IOC Executive Board in Lausanne at Olympic House. Photo Greg Martin/IOC
L’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a confirmé que la Trêve olympique pour les Jeux de Tokyo 2020 serait désormais observée du 16 juillet 2021 au 12 septembre 2021. Avec le report, à cause de la pandémie du COVID-19, des Jeux de la XXXIIe Olympiade à 2021, les dates de la Trêve ont été modifiées en conséquence.  

Tradition de la Grèce antique établie afin de faire cesser les hostilités, « l’Ekecheira », permettait la participation en toute sécurité des athlètes et des spectateurs aux Jeux Olympiques. La coutume voulait que tous les conflits cessent pendant la durée de cette trêve, débutant le septième jour précédant l’ouverture des Jeux au septième jour suivant leur clôture.

Adoptée à l’unanimité par 186 des 193 États membres des Nations Unies en décembre 2019, la résolution de l’ONU intitulée « Édification d’un monde pacifique et meilleur grâce au sport et à l’idéal olympique « , réaffirme que les valeurs olympiques de paix, de solidarité et de respect sont aussi importantes dans le monde d’aujourd’hui qu’elles l’étaient il y a plus de 3.000 ans.

« Par leur soutien, les gouvernements du monde entier soulignent une fois de plus le pouvoir unificateur des Jeux Olympiques. » Thomas Bach, Président du Comité International Olympique (CIO)

D’après le Président du CIO, cette décision est un signe fort de confiance dans le fait que ces Jeux Olympiques seront la lumière au bout du tunnel obscur dans lequel l’humanité se trouve actuellement. « Nous sommes très reconnaissants à tous les gouvernements pour cette expression de confiance dans les Jeux Olympiques » a t-il-dit. Thomas Bach a aussi rappelé que les athlètes des 206 Comités Nationaux Olympiques et de l’équipe olympique des réfugiés formée par le CIO jouissent tous des mêmes droits et se respectent mutuellement, avec l’application des mêmes règles pour tous sans aucune discrimination.

« Nous sommes heureux que l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies ait approuvé la modification des dates pour observer la Trêve olympique, conformément aux nouvelles dates prévues pour les Jeux de Tokyo 2020. » Yoshiro Mori, Président du Comité d’organisation de Tokyo 2020

Les principaux objectifs poursuivis par le CIO dans le cadre de la Trêve olympique sont de mobiliser les jeunes pour la promotion de l’idéal olympique, d’utiliser le sport pour contribuer à jeter des ponts entre les communautés en conflit et, d’une manière plus générale, de créer des conditions propices au dialogue et à la réconciliation.

Les Jeux Olympiques de Tokyo 2020 se tiendront du 23 juillet au 8 août 2021 et seront suivis des Jeux Paralympiques du 24 août au 5 septembre 2021