1.1 C
Geneva
Monday, December 4, 2023

TOKYO 2020: Creation of a refugee team

At the 133rd Session of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in Buenos Aires, it was decided to create a team of refugees to take part in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The IOC Session members asked the Olympic Solidarity set the conditions for participation and define the team identification and selection procedure in close collaboration with the National Olympic Committees (NOCs), the International Sports Federations (IFs), the Tokyo 2020 Organizing Committee and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

IOC President Thomas Bach regretted that "the reasons why an Olympic refugee team was initially created before the Rio 2016 Games are still relevant today."

The very first Refugee Olympic Team was created by the IOC in 2015. Ten athletes were chosen to represent peoples who are too often forgotten. It was a historic moment in Brazil when a team made up of refugees took part in the Rio 2016 Olympic Games for the very first time. During the opening ceremony parade, two swimmers, two judokas, a marathon runner and five middle-distance runners from Ethiopia, South Sudan, Syria and the Democratic Republic of Congo instantly became role models for the 68.5 million refugees and internally displaced persons, and true global ambassadors for the values of Olympism.

"We will do everything we can to welcome refugee athletes and give them a 'home' and a flag in the Olympic Village in Tokyo, alongside athletes from the 206 National Olympic Committees." Thomas Bach, President of the International Olympic Committee

Since the Rio Olympic Games, the IOC has continued to support these 10 Olympians, as well as other refugee athletes on five continents, through the Olympic Solidarity support program for them. Through scholarships in the form of monthly training grants and fixed grants for competition, Olympic Solidarity and the National Olympic Committees hosting these refugees help them to prepare for and take part in national and international competitions. The UNHCR, which has a long-standing relationship with the IOC, plays an essential role in all stages of athlete selection, approval and monitoring.

Furthermore, in September 2017, the IOC launchedtheOlympic Refuge Foundation to contribute more broadly to the protection and empowerment of vulnerable displaced people through sport and the creation of safe spaces, again in cooperation with UNHCR and partners on the ground.

"In 2016, the Refugee Team in Rio captured the imagination of the world and showed, through sport, the human side of the global refugee crisis. I'm delighted that this tradition will continue in Tokyo. Giving these exceptional young athletes the opportunity to compete at the highest level is admirable." Filippo Grandi, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

For the past 20 years, in collaboration with the UNHCR, the IOC has been helping refugees and displaced persons by using the power of sport to promote youth development, education, social integration and health. These actions bring joy through sport and help to heal the psychological wounds suffered by refugee populations in numerous camps and facilities around the world.

The members of the Olympic refugee team for Tokyo will be announced in 2020.

TOKYO 2020 : Création d’une équipe de réfugiés

0
61
BUENOS AIRES - ARGENTINA - 6th Oct 2018: The second day of the Olympism In Action forum at CECBA - Spotlight on the 2016 Refugee Olympic Team - IOC President Thomas Bach on stage with the team members. Photography by Greg Martin/IOC
Lors de la 133ème Session du Comité International Olympique (CIO), à Buenos Aires, il a été décidé de créer une équipe composée de réfugiés qui participera aux Jeux Olympiques de Tokyo, en 2020.

Les membres de la Session du CIO ont demandé à la Solidarité Olympique de fixer les conditions de participation et de définir la procédure d’identification et de sélection de l’équipe en étroite collaboration avec les Comités Nationaux Olympiques (CNO), les Fédérations Internationales (FI) de sport, le Comité d’organisation de Tokyo 2020 et le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR).

Le Président du CIO, Thomas Bach, a regretté que « les raisons pour lesquelles une équipe olympique des réfugiés avait été initialement créée avant les Jeux de Rio 2016 sont toujours d’actualité. »

La toute première équipe olympique des réfugiés a été créée par le CIO en 2015. Dix athlètes avaient été choisis pour représenter des peuples qui sont trop souvent oubliés. Le moment était historique au Brésil lorsqu’une équipe composée de réfugiés a participé pour la toute première fois aux Jeux Olympiques de Rio 2016. Lors du défilé à la cérémonie d’ouverture, deux nageurs, deux judokas, un marathonien et cinq coureurs de demi-fond, originaires d’Éthiopie, du Soudan du Sud, de Syrie et de la République démocratique du Congo, sont instantanément devenus des modèles pour les 68,5 millions de réfugiés et personnes déplacées à l’intérieur de leur pays, et de véritables ambassadeurs mondiaux des valeurs de l’Olympisme.

« Nous ferons tout notre possible pour accueillir des athlètes réfugiés et leur donner un « foyer » et un drapeau au village olympique à Tokyo, aux côtés des athlètes des 206 Comités Nationaux Olympiques.” Thomas Bach, Président du Comité Olympique International

Depuis les Jeux Olympiques de Rio, le CIO continue de soutenir ces 10 olympiens, ainsi que d’autres athlètes réfugiés sur les cinq continents, par le biais du programme de soutien de la Solidarité Olympique qui leur est destiné. Grâce à des bourses qui prennent la forme de subventions mensuelles pour l’entraînement et de subventions fixes pour la compétition, la Solidarité Olympique et les Comités Nationaux Olympiques qui accueillent ces réfugiés aident ces derniers à se préparer et à participer à des compétitions nationales et internationales. Le HCR, qui collabore depuis longtemps avec le CIO, joue un rôle essentiel à toutes les étapes de la sélection, de l’approbation et du suivi des athlètes.

Par ailleurs, en septembre 2017, le CIO a lancé lOlympic Refuge Foundation pour contribuer plus largement à la protection et à l’autonomisation des personnes déplacées vulnérables grâce au sport et à la création d’espaces sécurisés, là encore en coopération avec le HCR et des partenaires sur place.

“En 2016, l’équipe des réfugiés à Rio a séduit l’imagination du monde entier et a montré, à travers le sport, le côté humain de la crise mondiale des réfugiés. Je suis heureux que cette tradition se poursuive à Tokyo. Donner à ces jeunes athlètes exceptionnels la possibilité de concourir au plus haut niveau est admirable.” Filippo Grandi, Haut-Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les Réfugiés

Ces 20 dernières années, avec la collaboration du HCR, le CIO contribue à secourir des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées en utilisant le pouvoir du sport de promouvoir le développement de la jeunesse, l’éducation, l’intégration sociale et la santé. Ces actions apportent la joie par le sport et aident à guérir les blessures psychologiques dont souffrent les populations de réfugiés dans de nombreux camps et installations du monde entier.

Les membres de l’équipe olympique des réfugiés pour Tokyo seront annoncés en 2020.