18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Sotheby's appoints global head of jewelry & watch divisions

With 25 years' experience in the luxury goods industry, Laurence Nicolas has just been appointed Vice President and Global Managing Director for Jewelry and Watches at Sotheby's. Reporting to Tad Smith, the group's Chairman and CEO, she will lead the jewelry and watch strategy, including public sales, private sales and e-commerce, as well as Sotheby's Diamonds.

Prior to joining Sotheby's, Laurence Nicolas was President and CEO of Christian Dior Couture's Watch and Jewelry division since 2001. As soon as she was appointed, she created the Haute Joaillerie division, before setting up the Watch division in 2008. She also held key positions at Cartier between 1990 and 2001, notably in international retail and customer marketing.

Sotheby's Group Chairman Tad Smith said: "Our jewelry and watch business operates in much wider markets than the art market. This new position has been designed to reinforce our multi-platform strategy and enable us to seize the considerable opportunity presented to us." He added thathe creativity, energy and experience of Laurence Nicolas will undoubtedly be a source of inspiration for the talented teams she will lead. She will be instrumental in furthering the service to our customers and the growth of Sotheby's in these two key areas."

Laurence Nicolas will join Sotheby's global headquarters in New York from February 1, 2018. She will work closely with an exceptional team based between the United States, Europe and Asia, helped by the invaluable support of David Bennett, Global President of the International Jewelry Division and Daryn Schnipper, President of the International Watch Division.

Sotheby’s, nomination d’une directrice mondiale des divisions joaillerie & horlogerie

0
455
Laurence Nicolas par Franco Tettamanti

Riche d’une expérience de 25 ans dans le domaine du luxe, Laurence Nicolas vient d’être nommée vice-présidente et directrice générale monde, pour la joaillerie et l’horlogerie de Sotheby’s.  Sous l’autorité de Tad Smith, président-directeur général du groupe, elle dirigera la stratégie joaillère et horlogère, notamment en matière de ventes publiques, ventes privées et e-commerce, ainsi que Sotheby’s Diamonds.

Avant de rejoindre la maison Sotheby’s, Laurence Nicolas fut présidente-directrice générale Horlogerie et Joaillerie de la maison Christian Dior Couture depuis 2001.  Dès sa nomination, elle a créé la division Haute Joaillerie avant de mettre en place celle dédiée à l’Horlogerie en 2008. Elle a également occupé des postes clés chez Cartier entre 1990 et 2001, notamment dans le retail international et le marketing client.

Le Président du groupe Sotheby’s, Tad Smith, a déclaré: « notre activité en joaillerie et horlogerie opère sur des marchés beaucoup plus vastes que celui du marché de l’art. Ce nouveau poste a été conçu pour renforcer notre stratégie multiplateformes et nous permettre de saisir l’opportunité considérable qui nous est offerte. » Il a ajouté que « la créativité, l’énergie et l’expérience de Laurence Nicolas sera sans aucun doute une source d’inspiration pour les équipes talentueuses qu’elle dirigera. Elle permettra de favoriser le service vers nos clients et la croissance de Sotheby’s dans ces deux domaines clés. »

Laurence Nicolas rejoindra le siège mondial de Sotheby’s à New York à partir du 1er février 2018. Elle travaillera en étroite collaboration avec une équipe exceptionnelle basée entre les États-Unis, l’Europe et l’Asie, aidé du précieux soutien de David Bennett, Président mondial de la division internationale de la joaillerie et de Daryn Schnipper, Président de la division internationale de l’horlogerie.