10.5 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Migrant schooling threatened by COVID-19

At a time when the United Nations is striving to achieve its Sustainable Development Goals, and in particular the fourth goal of ensuring access to quality education for all, the Covid-19 pandemic could wipe out many recent efforts.

In every country, children's daily lives are turned upside down by the presence of Covid-19. Day-care centers, nurseries, schools, universities, apprenticeships, training courses - everything is disrupted. When you consider that more than half of the 79.5 million internally displaced persons or refugees are children, it's easy to understand why the head of the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees, Filippo Grandi, is so concerned. He notes that "the gap between refugee pupils and the general school population remains enormous, especially at higher levels of education. With the ever-increasing number of uprooted people around the world, stabilizing school enrolment rates is no mean feat."

Refugee schooling rate Primary: 77%; Secondary: 31%; Higher education: 3%.

Higher education In 2018, the secondary school enrolment rate for refugees rose from 23% to 24% and, 3% were enrolled in higher education institutions. 2019 was a record year for UNHCR's higher education scholarship program, known as the DAFI (Albert Einstein German Academic Refugee Initiative) program, which is largely funded by the German and Danish governments. The scholarship holders came from 45 countries. The majority of students came from Syria (29%), followed by Afghanistan (14%), South Sudan (14%), Somalia (10%) and the Democratic Republic of Congo (6%). The top five host countries were Ethiopia, Turkey, Jordan, Kenya and Pakistan. In countries where the gross school enrolment rate for refugees is below 10%, such as Ethiopia and Pakistan, all girls are at risk of never returning to school.

Girls are particularly concerned

According to a study by the Malala Fund for Girls' Education and COVID-19, almost 10 million girls may not attend secondary school once the coronavirus pandemic is over. In the case of refugee girls, around 50% may not return to school when classes resume. Out-of-school refugee girls are exposed to increased risks of exploitation, sexual and gender-based violence, early pregnancy and marriage. Yet we know that women with a secondary education earn on average almost twice as much as those with no education at all. According to Unesco, if all girls completed elementary school, child marriages would fall by 14%. If they finished secondary school, this figure would fall by 64%.

COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic is also having an impact on the education of student refugees, 85% of whom live in developing countries. With some affected by school closures, distance learning is not always available, and even if it is, cell phones, tablets, laptops, TVs and radios, as well as Internet connectivity, are often not accessible to displaced people. The coronavirus could wipe out the dreams and ambitions of these young refugees. The socio-economic consequences of the pandemic not only restrict opportunities, but may also force displaced and destitute students to drop out of school and work, beg and marry early, in an attempt to support their families.

Scolarité des migrants menacée par le COVID-19

0
44
UNPhoto/Marco-Dormino

Alors que les Nations Unies essaient de concrétiser les Objectifs de Développement Durable et particulièrement le quatrième consistant à assurer l’accès de tous à une éducation de qualité, la pandémie du Covid-19 pourrait réduire à zéro de nombreux efforts fournis récemment.

Dans tous les pays, le quotidien des enfants est particulièrement chamboulé par la présence du Covid-19. Garderies, crèches, écoles, universités, apprentissages, formations, tout est perturbé. Quand on sait que plus de la moitié des 79,5 millions de personnes déplacées interne ou des réfugiés sont des enfants, on comprend mieux l’inquiétude, dans le contexte actuel, du chef du Haut-Commissariat en charge des réfugiés, Filippo Grandi. Il constate que « l’écart entre les élèves réfugiés et la population scolaire générale demeure énorme, surtout aux niveaux plus élevés d’enseignement. Avec l’augmentation incessante du nombre de personnes déracinées à travers le monde, stabiliser les taux de scolarisation relève de l’exploit. »

Taux de scolarisation des réfugiés : Primaire :77% ; Secondaire : 31% ; Enseignement supérieur : 3%

Enseignement supérieur En 2018, le taux de scolarisation des réfugiés dans le secondaire est passé de 23 à 24 % et, 3% étaient inscrits dans des établissements d’enseignement supérieur. L’année 2019 a été une année record pour le programme de bourses d’études supérieures du HCR, connu sous le nom de programme DAFI (Albert Einstein German Academic Refugee Initiative), qui est largement financé par les gouvernements allemand et danois. Les boursiers étaient originaires de 45 pays. La majorité des étudiants venaient de Syrie (29%), suivis de ceux d’Afghanistan (14%), du Soudan du Sud (14%), de Somalie (10%) et de la République démocratique du Congo (6%). Les cinq principaux pays d’accueil étaient l’Éthiopie, la Turquie, la Jordanie, le Kenya et le Pakistan. Dans les pays où le taux brut de scolarisation des réfugiées est inférieur à 10 %, comme l’Éthiopie et le Pakistan, toutes les filles risquent de ne plus jamais retourner à l’école.

Les filles particulièrement concernées

Selon une étude du Fonds Malala sur l’éducation des filles et le COVID-19, près de 10 millions de filles pourraient ne plus fréquenter le secondaire une fois la pandémie de coronavirus passée. Concernant les jeunes filles réfugiées, environ 50% d’entre elles pourraient ne pas retourner à l’école, à la reprise des cours. Les filles réfugiées déscolarisées sont exposées à des risques accrus d’exploitation, de violences sexuelles et sexistes, de grossesse et mariage précoces. Nous savons pourtant que les femmes qui font des études secondaires gagnent en moyenne près de deux fois plus que celles n’ayant aucune éducation. Selon l’Unesco, si toutes les filles terminaient le cycle élémentaire, les mariages d’enfants diminueraient de 14 %. Si celles-ci finissaient l’école secondaire, ce chiffre chuterait de 64 %.

COVID-19

La pandémie du COVID-19 a aussi des répercussions sur l’éducation des étudiants-réfugiés, dont 85% résident dans des pays en développement. Certains étant touchés par les fermetures d’écoles, l’apprentissage à distance n’est pas toujours disponible et même si c’est le cas, les téléphones portables, tablettes, ordinateurs portables, téléviseurs et radios ainsi que la connectivité Internet ne sont souvent pas accessibles aux personnes déplacées. Le coronavirus pourrait réduire à néant les rêves et les ambitions de ces jeunes réfugiés. Les conséquences socio-économiques de la pandémie non seulement restreignent les opportunités, mais peuvent également contraindre les élèves déplacés et démunis à abandonner l’école et à travailler, à la mendicité et aux mariages précoces, pour essayer de subvenir aux besoins de leur famille.