4 C
Geneva
Friday, February 23, 2024

Refugees: UN urges us not to abandon them

The opening of the 71st session of the Executive Committee of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) reflected the UN agency's concern at the increase in the number of displaced persons and the "outsourcing of asylum beyond a country's borders". The economic and financial consequences of the coronavirus, which affect all countries, could have an impact on the States whose contributions form the backbone of the organization.

In his speech at the opening (October 5) of the Executive Committee of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), Filippo Grandi, the agency's High Commissioner, took stock of the global situation. In his view, despite the many worrying signs and abuses resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, maintaining humanitarian budgets will be a relatively inexpensive way of saving lives, protecting vulnerable people and enabling them to live with dignity and in a safe environment.

Nearly 80 million people displaced

Despite UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres' call for a global ceasefire, conflict, violence, discrimination, human rights violations and political crises continued, bringing the total number of forcibly displaced people to almost 80 million, double the number 10 years ago. Over the past year, more than 140,000 people have been uprooted in Yemen, where the threat of famine hangs over 24 million people. In Central America, 100,000 Nicaraguans sought refuge abroad, most of them in Costa Rica. The head of the UNHCR expressed concern at the "escalation of tensions and military action between Armenia and Azerbaijan".

Shocking situation in the Sahel

The head of the UNHCR said that "few situations have shocked him as much" as the one in the Sahel, where he visited earlier this year. Over 600,000 people have been forcibly displaced from their homes. In recent years, many schools have been closed or destroyed (+3,600) and, "worst of all, thousands of women have been raped." According to Filippo Grandi, we need to restore a sense of urgency to the response in the Sahel."

Closing borders

Filippo Grandi urged states to ensure that travel restrictions due to COVID-19 "remain temporary and non-discriminatory" and comply with international human rights obligations. The United States has announced a drastic reduction in the quota of refugees admitted to its territory, to no more than 15,000 by 2021.

Ashamed to be European

Filippo Grandi warned against "dangerous lines of thinking" that have emerged in some countries, including the "outsourcing" of asylum beyond a country's borders. The High Commissioner said this approach could "violate international law, put the lives of the most vulnerable at risk and set precedents that threaten asylum". He added that "as a European", he found it "shameful that it took more than a month to let only 27 people disembark" from the cargo ship Mearsk Etienne.

Maintaining hospitality

More than 110 states have found ways to keep their asylum systems running while taking the necessary public health precautions. The head of UNHCR cited the example of Uganda, which, while already hosting over 1.4 million refugees, has nevertheless reopened its borders to allow 3,000 people fleeing the murderous militia violence in the Democratic Republic of Congo to cross and find refuge. Canada is establishing itself as a champion of innovative approaches and resettlement. In 2019, less than a quarter of 1% of the world's refugees were resettled.

Increased travel

In the context of increasing displacement and COVID-19, the head of UNHCR stressed that humanitarian aid alone would not suffice. It is important that internally displaced and stateless people are included in national responses. This means providing them with access to social services, implementing measures to combat food insecurity, and recognizing their right to education and work. Climate change also poses a threat to many populations. In this respect, Filippo Grandi encouraged the development of better forecasts and predictive analyses to enable effective targeted responses.

Financial contributions

UNHCR received $4.2 billion in 2019. To date, the UN agency has received 52% of the 2020 budget, as well as $460 million from the pandemic appeal. For the first time, the generosity of private donors will exceed 500 million dollars.

Réfugiés : l’ONU demande de ne pas les abandonner

0
36
Filippo Grandi, Haut-Commissaire en charge des Réfugiés. UN Photo / Jean-Marc Ferré

L’ouverture de la 71ème session du Comité Exécutif du Haut-Commissariat pour les Réfugiés (HCR) a reflété l’inquiétude de l’agence spécialisée des Nations Unies face à l’augmentation du nombre de déplacés et à « l’externalisation de l’asile au-delà des frontières d’un pays ». Les conséquences économiques et financières du coronavirus qui affectent tous les pays, pourraient avoir un impact sur les Etats dont les contributions constituent l’épine dorsale de l’organisation.

Dans son discours prononcé lors de l’ouverture (5 octobre) du Comité Exécutif du Haut-Commissariat pour les Réfugiés (HCR), Filippo Grandi, Haut-Commissaire de l’agence, a fait le point sur la situation mondiale. Il a estimé que malgré de nombreux signaux inquiétants et des abus découlant de la pandémie du COVID-19, le maintien des budgets humanitaires sera, d’après lui, un moyen relativement peu coûteux de sauver des vies, de protéger des personnes vulnérables, de leurs permettre de vivre dignement et dans un environnement sécurisé.

Près de 80 millions de personnes déplacées

Malgré l’appel du Secrétaire général de l’ONU, Antonio Guterres, à un cessez-le-feu mondial, les conflits, la violence, la discrimination, les violations des droits de l’homme et les crises politiques se sont poursuivis, portant le nombre total de personnes déplacées de force à près de 80 millions, soit le double d’il y a 10 ans. Au cours de l’année écoulée, plus de 140.000 personnes déracinées au Yémen, où la menace de famine menace 24 millions de personnes. En Amérique centrale, 100.000 nicaraguayens ont cherché refuge à l’étranger, la plupart au Costa Rica. Le chef du HCR s’est dit préoccupé par « l’escalade des tensions et des actions militaires entre l’Arménie et l’Azerbaïdjan ».

Situation choquante au Sahel

Le chef du HCR a déclaré que « peu de situations l’ont autant choqué » que celle du Sahel où il s’est rendu au début de l’année. Plus de 600.000 personnes ont été déplacées de force de leurs maisons. Ces dernières années de nombreuses écoles ont été fermées ou détruites (+3.600). Et, « le pire, des milliers de femmes ont été violées. » D’après Filippo Grandi, il faut redonner un sentiment d’urgence à la réponse au Sahel. »

Fermeture des frontières

Filippo Grandi a exhorté les États à garantir que les restrictions de déplacements dues au COVID-19 « restent temporaires et non discriminatoires » et qu’elles respectent les obligations internationales en matière de droits humains. Les Etats-Unis ont annoncé une réduction draconienne du quota de réfugiés admis sur le territoire, pas plus de 15.000 personnes en 2021.

Honte d’être européen

Filippo Grandi a mis en garde contre les « lignes de pensée dangereuses » qui ont émergé dans certains pays, notamment « l’externalisation » de l’asile au-delà des frontières d’un pays. Le Haut-Commissaire a dit que cette approche pouvait « violer le droit international, mettre la vie des plus vulnérables en danger et constituer des précédents qui menacent l’asile ». Il a ajouté « qu’en tant qu’européen », il trouvait « honteux qu’il ait fallu plus d’un mois pour laisser débarquer seulement 27 personnes » du cargo Mearsk Etienne.

Maintien de l’accueil

Plus de 110 États ont trouvé des moyens de maintenir le fonctionnement des systèmes d’asile tout en prenant les précautions de santé publique nécessaires. Le chef du HCR a cité l’exemple de l’Ouganda qui, tout en accueillant déjà plus de 1,4 million de réfugiés, a néanmoins rouvert ses frontières pour permettre à 3.000 personnes fuyant la violence meurtrière des milices en République Démocratique du Congo de traverser et de trouver refuge. Le Canada s’établit comme le champion d’approches novatrices et de la réinstallation. En 2019, moins d’un quart de 1% des réfugiés dans le monde ont été réinstallé.

Augmentation des déplacements

Dans le contexte de l’augmentation des déplacements et du COVID-19, le chef du HCR a souligné que l’aide humanitaire ne pourrait suffire. Il est important que les personnes déplacées internes et les apatrides soient inclus dans les réponses nationales. Cela implique de leur fournir un accès aux services sociaux, de mettre en place de mesures de lutte contre l’insécurité alimentaire, mais aussi de reconnaître un droit à l’éducation et au travail. Le changement climatique constitue aussi une menace pour de nombreuses populations. A ce titre, Filippo Grandi a encouragé le développement de meilleures prévisions et analyses prédictives pour permettre des réponses ciblées efficaces.

Contributions financières

Le HCR a reçu 4,2 milliards de dollars en 2019. Pour le moment l’agence onusienne a réceptionné 52% du budget 2020 ainsi que 460 millions de dollars, conséquence de l’appel effectué pour faire face à la pandémie. Pour la première fois, la générosité de donateurs privés dépassera les 500 millions de dollars.