9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

WTO: African candidate blocked by Washington

Following the early departure of the head of the World Trade Organization (WTO), the selection process to choose a new DG has been set in motion. The final stage of two months of consultations has now been reached. A consensus should have formed around one of the two finalists, the Nigerian Ngozi, the preferred candidate of the member states. But the United States refuses to play ball and is blocking the election.

Representatives of the 164 member states of the World Trade Organization met in the Salle William Rappard on the afternoon of October 28. The President of the General Council, Ambassador David Walker of New Zealand, flanked by his two co-facilitators, Ambassadors Dacio Castillo of Honduras and Harald Aspelund of Iceland, revealed the name of the candidate who had received the broadest support. Based on consultations with all the delegations over the past three weeks, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, former Nigerian Finance Minister and Managing Director of the World Bank, emerged as the candidate with more support than her rival, South Korea's current Minister of Trade and Industry, Yoo Myung-hee.

Blocking by the United States

Through its representative to the organization, Ambassador Dennis Shea, the United States made it known that it was vetoing the African candidate. According to the Americans, the South Korean is an accomplished trade negotiator with the necessary skills to lead the trade body at a "very difficult time". The blocking of the election process for the WTO's 7th Director General is just another move by Washington in its assault on the institution. For several months now, the United States has been blocking the appointment of judges to the dispute settlement system's appeals tribunal, provoking one of the WTO's most serious institutional crises. President Donald Trump has repeatedly threatened to leave the organization.

Next step

A new General Council meeting is scheduled for November 9, a few days after the US presidential election. Many are hopeful that a solution can be found by then. In 1999, New Zealand's Mike Moore and Thailand's Supachai Panitchpakdi were unable to break the tie. The member states decided to split the four-year term into two two-year periods. Okonjo-Iweala, currently Chairman of the Board of the GAVI Alliance for Vaccines, said the WTO should play a role in helping the poorest countries gain access to COVID-19 medicines and vaccines.

OMC : la candidate africaine bloquée par Washington

0
110
Façade de l'Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC), située à Genève, en Suisse. Photo/CTB

Après le départ anticipé du chef de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC), le processus de sélection pour choisir un nouveau DG a été mis en route. La dernière étape de deux mois de consultations vient d’être atteinte. Un consensus aurait dû se former autour d’une des deux finalistes, la nigériane, Ngozi, candidate préférée des Etats-membres. Mais les Etats-Unis refusent de jouer le jeu et bloque l’élection.

Les représentants des 164 Etats-membres de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce se sont réunis durant l’après-midi du 28 octobre dans la Salle William Rappard. Le Président du Conseil général, l’Ambassadeur David Walker de Nouvelle-Zélande, encadré de ses deux co-facilitateurs, les Ambassadeurs Dacio Castillo du Honduras et Harald Aspelund de l’Islande, a révélé le nom de la candidate qui a obtenu le plus large soutien. Sur la base des consultations effectuées les dernières trois semaines avec l’ensemble des délégations, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, ancienne Ministre des Finances du Nigéria et directrice générale de la Banque Mondiale, s’est révélée obtenir plus de soutien que sa concurrente, l’actuelle ministre du commerce et de l’industrie de la Corée du Sud, Yoo Myung-hee.

Blocage par les Etats-Unis

Par la voix de son représentant auprès de l’organisation, l’Ambassadeur Dennis Shea, les Etats-Unis ont fait savoir qu’ils apposaient leur veto à la candidate africaine. D’après les américains, la sud-coréenne est un négociateur commercial accompli qui possède les compétences nécessaires pour diriger l’organisme commercial à un « moment très difficile ». Le blocage du processus d’élection du 7ème directeur général de l’OMC, n’est qu’une manœuvre supplémentaire de Washington dans ses assauts contre l’institution. En effet, depuis plusieurs mois les nominations des juges du tribunal d’appel du système de règlement des différends sont bloquées par les Etats-Unis, provoquant l’une des plus graves crises institutionnelles de l’OMC. Le président Donald Trump a menacé à plusieurs reprises de quitter l’organisation.

Prochaine étape

Une nouvelle réunion du Conseil général est prévue le 9 novembre, quelques jours après l’élection présidentielle américaine. Nombreux sont ceux qui espèrent que, passé ce cap, une solution pourra être trouvée. En 1999, le Néo-Zélandais Mike Moore et le Thaïlandais Supachai Panitchpakdi n’avaient pas pu être départagés. Les Etats-membres avaient alors décidé de scinder le mandat de quatre ans en deux périodes de deux ans. Actuellement président du conseil d’administration de l’alliance pour les vaccins de GAVI, Okonjo-Iweala a déclaré que l’OMC devrait jouer un rôle pour aider les pays les plus pauvres à accéder aux médicaments et aux vaccins COVID-19.