10.5 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

New UN portal planned for 2023

UNO Geneva Director-General Michael Møller has signed a framework agreement with the new Portail des Nations foundation, set up by Geneva philanthropist Ivan Pictet, with the ultimate aim of building a new reception and information facility for the UN and its place in international Geneva.

The Portail des Nations project proposes to provide the United Nations Office in Geneva with a new infrastructure of over 3,000m2 dedicated to welcoming visitors, informing and educating the general public about multilateralism and the work carried out by the UN family.

The project, estimated to cost 27.5 million Swiss francs, will be financed by a donation from the Fondation Portail des Nations, which was established thanks to commitments from the Fondation Pictet pour le Développement, another Geneva-based private entity, and the Loterie romande.

"The Portail des Nations project represents an extraordinary opportunity to strengthen our communications and forge closer links with the general public," said Mr. Møller, whose term of office ends on Sunday.

"At a time when mistrust of public institutions reigns, UNO Geneva must resolutely choose openness and find new ways of spreading the fundamental message of the United Nations. I'm delighted to have been able to help set this new project in motion. Michael Møller , Director General of the United Nations Office at Geneva

UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres will report on the project's progress in his annual report on the Strategic Plan for Heritage Preservation of the Palais des Nations, which he will submit to the General Assembly in the autumn.

For Ivan Pictet, founder and President of the Fondation Portail des Nations, the project will help to better inform a broad public about the issues and challenges facing the world, and to promote the benefits of multilateralism as embodied by the United Nations and other international organizations in Geneva.

" The UN has chosen a very strong symbolic location for its new space - in a country recognized throughout the world for its neutrality, in Geneva, which claims to be the cradle of multilateralism, and in the Palais des Nations, the UN's operational center that fosters dialogue between all countries." Yvan Pictet

For his part, Valentin Zellweger, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the United Nations in Geneva, recalled that "Switzerland encourages and supports the United Nations in its desire to be accessible to the population, and considers it very important that Geneva's work for the world be known and understood. Ultimately, the United Nations belongs to the peoples of our planet", he stressed.

Finally, Antonio Hodgers, President of the Conseil d'Etat, believes that "this project will open the doors of the Palais des Nations to the general public and to visitors". He is delighted by "the opportunity it should give everyone to be more closely involved in the important decisions taken in international Geneva."

Exhibitions and interactive tour

The proposed project involves the construction of a pavilion building, with a new entrance for visitors overlooking the Place des Nations. The visitor center could welcome 300,000 visitors a year, and would offer an immersive, interactive exhibition trail of over 800m2 on the world's challenges and the solutions provided by the United Nations family in Geneva. An additional 400m2 would be dedicated to multilateral diplomacy, with the possibility of offering interactive workshops, conferences and debates, or temporary exhibitions.

Guided tours of the historic halls of the Palais des Nations, which currently welcome over 100,000 visitors a year, would be maintained and modernized.

If the necessary conditions for this project are confirmed, the UN will be the sole owner of the future complex, known as the Portail des Nations. Opening to the public is scheduled for 2023.

Nouveau portail des Nations Unies envisagé pour 2023

0
256
Le Directeur général de l’ONU Genève, Michael Møller (à droite), en compagnie du philanthrope genevois Ivan Pictet (à gauche), Photo UN/Antoine Tardy.

Le Directeur général de l’ONU Genève, Michael Møller, a signé avec la nouvelle fondation Portail des Nations, créée par le philanthrope genevois Ivan Pictet, un accord-cadre visant, à terme, la construction d’un nouveau lieu d’accueil et d’information sur l’ONU et sa place au sein de la Genève internationale.

Le projet Portail des Nations propose d’offrir à l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève une nouvelle infrastructure de plus de 3’000m2 dédiée à l’accueil des visiteurs, à l’information et à la formation du grand public au multilatéralisme et au travail mené par la famille onusienne. 

Le projet estimé à 27,5 millions de francs suisses sera financé grâce à une donation faite par la Fondation Portail des Nations établie grâce aux engagements obtenus de la Fondation Pictet pour le Développement, autre entité privée genevoise et de la Loterie romande. 

« Le projet Portail des Nations représente une opportunité extraordinaire de renforcer notre communication et de tisser des liens plus étroits avec le grand public », a déclaré Monsieur Møller, dont le mandat se termine dimanche.

« À l’heure où règne la méfiance à l’égard des institutions publiques, l’ONU Genève doit choisir résolument l’ouverture et trouver de nouveaux moyens de diffuser le message fondamental des Nations Unies. Je suis heureux d’avoir pu contribuer à mettre ce nouveau chantier en marche. » Michael Møller , Directeur Général de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève

Le Secrétaire général de l’ONU, Antonio Guterres, fera état de l’avancement du projet dans son rapport annuel sur le Plan stratégique pour la préservation du patrimoine du Palais des Nations, qu’il remettra à l’Assemblée générale à l’automne. 

Pour Ivan Pictet, fondateur et Président de la Fondation Portail des Nations, le projet permettrait de mieux informer un large public sur les enjeux et les défis du monde et de promouvoir les bienfaits du multilatéralisme incarné par les Nations Unies et les autres organisations internationales à Genève.

« L’ONU a choisi un lieu symbolique très fort pour son nouvel espace – dans un pays reconnu partout dans le monde pour sa neutralité, à Genève, qui se veut le berceau du multilatéralisme, et au Palais des Nations, centre opérationnel de l’ONU qui favorise le dialogue entre tous les pays. » Yvan Pictet

Pour sa part, Valentin Zellweger, Représentant permanent de la Suisse auprès des Nations Unies à Genève, a rappelé que « la Suisse encourage et soutient les Nations Unies dans leur volonté d’être accessibles à la population et considère très important que le travail de Genève pour le monde soit connu et compris. En définitive, les Nations Unies appartiennent aux peuples de notre planète », a-t-il souligné. 

Enfin, Antonio Hodgers, Président du Conseil d’Etat, estime que « ce projet sera une porte ouverte du Palais des Nations à la population et aux visiteurs. » Il se réjouit de « la possibilité qui devrait ainsi être offerte à toutes et à tous d’être davantage en prise avec les décisions importantes qui se prennent au sein de la Genève internationale. »

Expositions et parcours interactif

Le projet proposé évoque la construction d’un bâtiment pavillonnaire, avec une nouvelle entrée pour les visiteurs donnant sur la Place des Nations. Le centre de visiteurs pourrait accueillir 300’000 visiteurs par an et proposerait sur plus de 800m2 un parcours d’exposition immersif et interactif sur les enjeux du monde et les solutions apportées par la famille des Nations Unies à Genève. Une surface additionnelle de plus de 400m2 serait consacrée à la diplomatie multilatérale, avec la possibilité de proposer des ateliers interactifs, des conférences et débats, ou des expositions temporaires. 

Les visites guidées des salles historiques du Palais des Nations, qui accueillent actuellement plus de 100’000 visiteurs par an, seraient maintenues et modernisées. 

Si les conditions nécessaires à la réalisation de ce projet sont confirmées, l’ONU sera seule propriétaire du futur complexe appelé Portail des Nations. L’ouverture au public est envisagée en 2023.