4 C
Geneva
Friday, February 23, 2024

Nigeria: more than 100 schoolgirls kidnapped

On February 19, during an attack on a school in the town of Dapchi, Yobe State, over 100 Nigerian schoolgirls were abducted by suspected insurgents from the Boko Haram terrorist organization. The attack and kidnapping were condemned by the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF), which called for the release of the abducted schoolgirls.

UNICEF's Director for West and Central Africa, Marie-Pierre Poirier, said that "attacks on schools are a violation of children's rights and international humanitarian law. Schools should be safe and protected spaces at all times." Four years ago 276 girls were kidnapped by Boko Haram in Chibok. To this day, many of them have still not returned. UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres urged the Nigerian authorities to swiftly bring to justice those responsible for the attack and abduction.

Since the start of the insurgency in northern Nigeria in 2009, more than 2,295 teachers have been killed, 19,000 people displaced and almost 1,400 schools destroyed. This violence is at the root of the humanitarian crisis affecting all the countries of the Lake Chad Basin. It is estimated that up to eight million people are in need of some form of humanitarian aid in the north-east, with Borno, Adamawa and Yobe states the hardest hit.

According to the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), $1.6 billion is required to meet the vital needs of 10.7 million people in the region.

Nigéria: plus de 100 écolières enlevées

0
366
Photo UNICEF/Abubakar

Le 19 février, lors d’une attaque contre un établissement scolaire de la ville de Dapchi, dans l’État de Yobe, plus de 100 écolières nigérianes ont été enlevées par des insurgés présumés de l’organisation terroriste Boko Haram. L’attaque et l’enlèvement avait été condamnés par le Fonds des Nations Unies pour l’enfance (UNICEF) qui avait appelé à la libération des écolières enlevées.

La Directrice de l’UNICEF pour l’Afrique de l’ouest et centrale, Marie-Pierre Poirier, a déclaré que «les attaques contre les écoles constituent une violation des droits de l’enfant et du droit international humanitaire. Les écoles devraient être des espaces sûrs et protégés en tout temps. » Il y a quatre ans 276 filles avaient été enlevées par Boko Haram à Chibok. Jusqu’à ce jour, un grand nombre d’entre elles ne sont toujours pas revenues. Le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, Antonio Guterres, a exhorté les autorités nigérianes à rapidement traduire en justice les responsables de cette attaque et de cet enlèvement.

Depuis le début de l’insurrection dans le nord du Nigéria en 2009, plus de 2.295 enseignants ont été tués et 19.000 personnes ont été déplacées, et près de 1.400 écoles ont été détruites. Ces violences sont à l’origine de la crise humanitaire qui touche l’ensemble des pays du bassin du Lac Tchad. D’après les estimations, près de huit millions de personnes ont besoin d’une forme d’aide humanitaire dans le nord-est, les États de Borno, Adamawa et Yobe étant les plus touchés.

Selon le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires (OCHA), 1,6 milliard de dollars sont nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins vitaux de 10,7 millions de personnes dans la région.