18.2 C
Geneva
Saturday, June 22, 2024

Libya: Immediate ceasefire

After five days of talks at the Palais des Nations in Geneva, a ceasefire was signed by all the belligerents. Implementation of the agreement will certainly be a delicate matter. A new meeting of all the players will take place in early November in Tunisia.

The fourth round of talks on Libya enabled the parties involved in the conflict in Libya to sign, on Friday morning, a national and permanent ceasefire with "immediate effect". The talks were held under the aegis of the United Nations and the Joint Military Commission, made up of five members representing the GNA (UN-recognized government) and five others Marshal Haftar (backed by foreign forces). The result of five days of exchanges is considered "a historic achievement" by Stéphanie Williams, Deputy Special Envoy of the UN Secretary-General, and Acting Head of the United Nations Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL). The signing ceremony took place in the Disarmament Room of the European Office of the United Nations (UNOG), in the presence of its Director General, Tatjana Valovaya.

Chaos since 2011

Since the fall of Muammar Gaddafi's regime in 2011, Libya has been plunged into chaos and violence. The country is divided into two political and military entities. On the one hand, the UN-recognized Government of National Unity (GNA), based in Tripoli, and on the other, the eastern authorities allied with Marshal Khalifa Haftar, the strongman of the east supported by part of the elected parliament and its president, Aguila Saleh. Both camps are supported by foreign powers. Thus, the rival parties have agreed that all military units and armed groups on the front line must return to their camps. These movements will be accompanied by the departure of all mercenaries and foreign fighters from all Libyan territory, land, air and sea, within a maximum period of three months from October 23.

A crisis "that has gone on too long

The round of inter-Libyan negotiations in Switzerland got off to a good start on Wednesday, with a number of agreements reached, notably on the opening of land and air routes and on joint security arrangements. Stéphanie Williams declared that the signatories would have "lots and lots of work in the days and weeks ahead to implement the commitments of the agreement". A virtual meeting is scheduled for Monday October 26, and a further meeting will take place in Tunis around November 7. The UN official said that "future generations of Libyans will look back on today's agreement as a courageous and essential first step towards a comprehensive settlement of the Libyan crisis, which has lasted too long".

Lybie : Cessez-le-feu immédiat

0
46
Signature du cessez-le feu dans la Salle du Désarmement, sise au Palais des Nations Unies à Genève. Photo/CTB

Après cinq jours de pourparlers au Palais des Nations à Genève, un cessez-le-feu a été signé par l’ensemble des belligérants. La mise en œuvre de l’Accord sera certainement délicate. Une nouvelle rencontre de tous les acteurs aura lieu début novembre en Tunisie.

Le quatrième round des discussions sur la Libye a permis aux parties impliquées dans le conflit en Libye de signer, vendredi matin, un cessez-le-feu national et permanent avec « effet immédiat ». Les discussions ont été organisées sous l’égide des Nations Unies et de la commission militaire conjointe, constituée de cinq membres représentant le GNA (gouvernement reconnu par l’ONU) et cinq autres le maréchal Haftar (soutenu par des forces étrangères). Le résultat des cinq jours d’échanges est considéré comme « un accomplissement historique » par Stéphanie Williams, Envoyée spéciale adjointe du Secrétaire général de l’ONU, et cheffe par intérim de la Mission d’Appui des Nations Unies en Libye (MANUL). La cérémonie de signatures a eu lieu dans la Salle du Désarmement de l’Office européen des Nations Unies (ONUG) en présence de sa directrice générale, Tatjana Valovaya.

Chaos depuis 2011

Depuis la chute du régime de Mouammar Kadhafi, en 2011, la Libye est plongée dans le chaos et la violence. Le pays est divisé en deux entités politiques et militaires. D’une part, le Gouvernement d’union nationale (GNA), reconnu par l’ONU et basé à Tripoli, d’autre part, les autorités de l’Est alliées du maréchal Khalifa Haftar, homme fort de l’Est soutenu par une partie du Parlement élu et son président, Aguila Saleh. Les deux camps sont soutenus par des puissances étrangères. Ainsi, les parties rivales ont convenu que toutes les unités militaires et les groupes armés sur la ligne de front doivent retourner dans leurs camps. Ces mouvements seront accompagnés du départ de tous les mercenaires et combattants étrangers de tout le territoire libyen, terre, air et mer, dans un délai maximum de trois mois à partir du 23 octobre.

Une crise « qui a trop duré »

Le round de négociations inter-libyennes en Suisse avait bien commencé car, mercredi, plusieurs accords avaient été obtenus notamment concernant l’ouverture de voies terrestres et aériennes ainsi que sur des dispositifs de sécurité communs. Stéphanie Williams a déclaré que les signataires auront « beaucoup, beaucoup de travail dans les jours et les semaines à venir pour mettre en œuvre les engagements de l’accord ». Une réunion virtuelle est prévue lundi 26 octobre et une nouvelle rencontre aura lieu à Tunis vers le 7 novembre. La responsable onusienne a dit « que les générations futures de Libyens considéreront l’accord d’aujourd’hui comme une première étape courageuse et essentielle pour parvenir à un règlement global de la crise libyenne, qui a trop duré ».