4 C
Geneva
Friday, February 23, 2024

Global guide to balanced and inclusive education: Adoption of principles

Various education specialists spoke at the Palais des Nations in Geneva, as part of the final meeting in a series of Regional Consultative Assemblies organized in 2017 by theEducation Relief Foundation (ERF), Globethics.net and the University of Geneva. A framework for reforming school systems around the world based on a balanced and inclusive education model was agreed.

"The unity and diversity of human beings must be recognized in education". Edgar Morin, French philosopher and sociologist

Edgar Morin, who holds the UNESCO Chair in Complex Thinking and is considered the founder of transdisciplinarity, said that education had so far failed to help students understand their own humanity, and to teach them to cope with uncertainty. Morin called for greater links to be forged between the different disciplines involved in education, and added that despite the increasingly widespread presence of communication tools such as the Internet, education had made no progress when it came to teaching students how to understand other cultures.

In his opening remarks, ERF member Jack Lang, former Minister of Culture, former Minister of Education and President of the Institut du Monde Arabe, asserted that "to succeed in educational reform, it is essential to develop a guide that serves as a foundation, without which educational reform could be meaningless".

Professor Abdeljalil Akkari, a member of the Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences and of the International and Comparative Education Research Team at the University of Geneva, added: "Many people do not see school as an institution that is intended for them and formed by them. ERF is important because it asks what kind of impact education can have on communities in the North and South".

"We absolutely must abandon the imperialist, industrialist model of education as a universal approach." Shaikh Manssour Bin Mussallam, Chairman and Founder, ERF

The President and Founder of theEducation Relief Forum referred to the Regional Assemblies in Bangkok, Nigeria and Panama City, which throughout 2017 highlighted the need to reorganize education. He asserted, "we need to examine our respective histories to lift the veil on what our civilizations and histories owe each other."

Creating a Guide to Balanced and Inclusive Education

The briefs and reports produced after the Regional Assemblies of the ERF and its partners form the basis of the recommendations made to the Geneva Assembly. The recommendations will be presented to the ERF by a Consultative Expert Working Group (CEWG), in collaboration with UNESCO's International Bureau of Education (IBE) and other partners, with a view to creating a Guide to the development of a Code of Ethics on Balanced and Inclusive Education.

Referring to previous ERF Assemblies, Bin Mussallam asserted, "If the 2017 ERF Regional Stakeholder Assemblies have demonstrated one thing, it's that the education models still held up as examples such as the Scandinavian and Singapore models are not equipped to deal with the diversity and challenges facing countries in the globalized South, nor with the increasing interactions between countries in the globalized South and countries in the globalized North." ERF plans to convene a Stakeholder Assembly in 2018, at which it will present this Guide on Balanced and Inclusive education.

Achieving MDG 4

The overall aim is to develop strategies to achieve UN Sustainable Development Goal number four on inclusive and equitable quality education for all. Organizations adopting the framework include the Ministries of Education of Malaysia and Uganda, UNESCO's IBE in Geneva, the Union of University Social Responsibility for Latin America (URSULA), UNESCO Bangkok and the African Heritage School in Benin.

TheEducation Relief Foundation (ERF) is a non-profit, non-governmental organization registered in Geneva. It aims to develop and promote a new approach to education that emphasizes the importance of balance and inclusiveness in the curriculum offered to young people. Its work is based on four pillars: intraculturalism, transdisciplinarity, dialecticism and contextuality.

Guide mondial de l’éducation équilibrée et inclusive: Adoption de principes

0
527
Education Relief Forum, Palais des Nations, December 8th 2017, Geneva.

Différents spécialistes de l’éducation ont pris la parole au Palais des Nations Unies, à Genève, dans le cadre de la dernière réunion d’une série d’Assemblées consultatives régionales organisées en 2017 par l’Education Relief Foundation (ERF), Globethics.net et l’Université de Genève. Un cadre visant à réformer les systèmes scolaires du monde entier sur la base d’un modèle éducatif équilibré et inclusif a été convenu.

« L’unité et la diversité des êtres humains doivent être reconnues dans l’éducation » Edgar Morin, philosophe et sociologue français 

Occupant la chaire UNESCO sur la pensée complexe, Edgar Morin, considéré comme fondateur de la transdisciplinarité, a affirmé que l’éducation n’avait pas, jusqu’à maintenant, réussi à faire comprendre aux étudiants leur propre humanité et ne les avait pas appris à faire face aux incertitudes. Morin a appelé à tisser des liens accrus entre les différentes disciplines liées à l’éducation et a ajouté que malgré la présence de plus en plus répandue d’outils de communication tels que l’Internet, l’éducation n’avait pas fait de progrès quand il s’agissait d’enseigner aux étudiants comment comprendre d’autres cultures.

Dans son propos liminaire, Jack Lang, membre de l’ERF, ancien ministre de la Culture, ancien ministre de l’Éducation et Président de l’Institut du Monde Arabe, a affirmé, « pour réussir une réforme de l’éducation, il est essentiel de développer un guide lui servant de fondement, sans quoi la réforme de l’éducation pourrait ne pas avoir de sens ».

Le professeur Abdeljalil Akkari, membre de la faculté de psychologie et des sciences de l’éducation ainsi que de l’équipe de recherche en éducation internationale et comparative à l’Université de Genève, a ajouté : « de nombreuses personnes ne voient pas l’école comme une institution qui leur est destinée et qui est formée par elles. L’ERF est importante car elle se demande quel type d’impact l’éducation peut avoir sur les communautés au nord et au sud ».

« Nous devons absolument abandonner le modèle impérialiste et industrialiste de l’éducation comme approche universelle. » Shaikh Manssour Bin Mussallam, Président-Fondateur de l’ERF

Le Président Fondateur de l’Education Relief Forum a évoqué les Assemblées régionales de Bangkok, du Nigéria et de Panama City qui, tout au long de l’année 2017, ont mis en évidence le besoin de réorganiser l’éducation. Il a affirmé: « nous devons examiner nos histoires respectives pour lever le voile sur ce que nos civilisations et histoires se doivent mutuellement. »

Créer un Guide de l’éducation équilibrée et inclusive

Les mémoires et rapports, produits après les Assemblées régionales de l’ERF et de ses partenaires, forment la base des recommandations formulées à l’Assemblée de Genève. Les recommandations seront présentées à l’ERF par un Groupe de travail consultatif d’experts (Consultative Expert Working Group, CEWG), en collaboration avec l’International Bureau of Education (IBE) de l’UNESCO et d’autres partenaires, en vue de créer un Guide visant à l’élaboration d’un code de déontologie sur l’éducation équilibrée et inclusive.

Faisant référence aux Assemblées de l’ERF précédentes, Bin Mussallam a affirmé : « Si les Assemblées régionales des parties prenantes de l’ERF 2017 ont démontré une seule chose, c’est que les modèles d’éducation toujours érigés en exemples tels que les modèles scandinaves et de Singapour ne sont pas équipés pour faire face à la diversité et aux défis auxquels les pays du sud mondialisé sont confrontés, ni aux interactions croissantes entre les pays du sud mondialisé et les pays du nord mondialisé ». L’ERF prévoit de convoquer une Assemblée des parties prenantes en 2018, lors de laquelle elle présentera ce Guide on Balanced and Inclusive éducation.

Atteindre l’ODD 4

L’objectif global consiste à développer des stratégies permettant d’atteindre l’Objectif de Développement Durable numéro quatre de l’ONU sur l’éducation de qualité inclusive et équitable pour tous. Les organisations ayant adopté le cadre incluent les ministères de l’Éducation de la Malaisie et de l’Ouganda, l’IBE de l’UNESCO à Genève, l’Union of University Social Responsibility for Latin America (URSULA), l’UNESCO Bangkok et l’École du patrimoine africain au Bénin.

L’Education Relief Foundation (ERF) est une organisation non gouvernementale, à but non lucratif, immatriculée à Genève. Elle vise à développer et à promouvoir une nouvelle approche de l’éducation qui souligne l’importance de l’équilibre et de l’inclusivité dans le cursus proposé aux jeunes gens. Son travail repose sur quatre piliers : l’intraculturalisme, la transdisciplinarité, le dialectisme et la contextualité.