9.7 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Ethiopia: alarming deterioration in Tigray

The conflict between Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed's government and the Tigray People's Liberation Front (TPLF) has been escalating since early November. The UN and its humanitarian agencies are sounding the alarm in the face of escalating violence that would include a war crime. All fear having to deal with a prolonged conflict of the gravest kind, affecting the whole of the Horn of Africa.

Ethiopia, Africa's second most populous country with 110 million inhabitants, is witnessing a worsening of the tensions that have existed for months between the federal government and the Tigray region. The alleged attack on Ethiopian army bases in Tigray prompted the army, on the orders of Addis Ababa, to storm the province in the north of the country, where neighbouring Eritrea has massed troops on the border.

Concern among humanitarian agencies

The United Nations is unable to provide assistance to over two million people in need of humanitarian aid in the region, including half a million who are food insecure. In addition, there are 200,000 internally displaced people and over 100,000 refugees from Eritrea, all based in Tigray. The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) is very concerned by the situation, as 14,500 Ethiopians, 50% of them children, have already crossed the border to seek shelter in neighboring Sudan, whose absorption capacity is very limited. The UN is very concerned that the conflict will continue to escalate, as almost 9 million people could suffer the consequences.

Warning

The High Commissioner for Human Rights, Michelle Bachelet, has expressed her deep concern about the alarming deterioration of the situation in the Tigray region. She warns the Ethiopian authorities and the leaders of the Tigray Peoples Liberation Front (TPLF) against continuing hostilities, which could get out of hand, causing destruction and massive displacement within the country and beyond its borders.

Possible war crime

According to the NGO Amnesty International, hundreds of people were killed with knives and machetes on the night of November 9 in the town of Mai-Kadra, in southwest Tigray. Eyewitnesses claimed that TPLF supporters were responsible for the massacre. Currently cut off from the rest of the world, all the information provided cannot be validly confirmed. Michelle Bachelet, the country's human rights chief, has declared that, should the facts be proven, they would constitute a war crime. She called for an independent inquiry.

Horn of Africa

Many experts fear that civil war could engulf the country, where 9 different regions are already fighting for greater autonomy or threatening to secede. Neighboring states, such as Sudan, South Sudan and Eritrea, are very nervous. UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said he was "deeply alarmed by the situation" in Tigray, stressing that "Ethiopia's stability is important for the Horn of Africa as a whole".

Ethiopie : détérioration alarmante au Tigré

0
169
Jeunes enfants de Gondar. Photo Célina Zinnow

Le conflit qui oppose, depuis début novembre, le gouvernement du premier ministre, Abiy Ahmed, au Front de libération des peuples du Tigré (TPLF), est de plus en plus violent. L’ONU et ses agences humanitaires tirent la sonnette d’alarme face à l’escalade de violence qui inclurait un crime de guerre. Tous craignent devoir gérer un conflit prolongé des plus graves qui affecterait l’ensemble de la Corne de l’Afrique.

Second pays le plus peuplé d’Afrique avec 110 millions d’habitants, l’Ethiopie voit l’aggravation des tensions, existantes depuis des mois, entre le gouvernement fédéral et la région du Tigré. L’attaque présumée de bases de l’armée éthiopienne au Tigré a provoqué, sur ordre d’Addis-Abeba, l’assaut par l’armée de la province située au nord du pays où l’Erythrée voisine a massé des troupes à la frontière.

Inquiétude des agences humanitaires

Les Nations Unies sont dans l’incapacité de porter assistance à plus de deux millions de gens qui ont besoin d’aide humanitaire dans la région, y compris un demi-million de personnes en situation d’insécurité alimentaire. S’ajoutent 200.000 déplacés internes et plus de 100.000 réfugiés en provenance d’Erythrée tous basés dans le Tigré. Le Haut-Commissariat chargés des réfugiés (HCR) est très préoccupé par la situation car 14.500 éthiopiens, dont 50% d’enfants, ont déjà passé la frontière pour se mettre à l’abris au Soudan voisin dont la capacité d’absorption est très limitée. L’ONU est très inquiet que le conflit poursuive son escalade car près de 9 millions de personnes pourraient en subir les conséquences.

Mise en garde

La Haut-Commissaire des droits de l’Homme, Michelle Bachelet, a partagé sa très vive préoccupation au sujet de la détérioration alarmante de la situation dans la région du Tigré. Elle met en garde les autorités éthiopiennes et les responsables du Front de libération des peuples du Tigré (TPLF) de la poursuite des hostilités qui pourraient devenir incontrôlables, provoquer des destructions, entrainer des déplacements massifs à l’intérieur du pays et au-delà de ses frontières.

Possible crime de guerre

Selon l’ONG Amnesty International, des centaines de personnes ont été tuées à coups de couteaux et de machettes dans la nuit du 9 novembre dans la ville de Mai-Kadra, au sud-ouest du Tigré. Des témoins oculaires ont déclaré que les partisans du TPLF étaient responsables du massacre. Actuellement coupée du monde toutes les informations fournies ne peuvent être valablement confirmées. Michelle Bachelet, chef des droits de l’homme, a déclaré qu’au cas où les faits étaient avérés, ils constitueraient un crime de guerre. Elle appelle à l’établissement d’une enquête indépendante.

Corne de l’Afrique

De nombreux experts craignent qu’une guerre civile embrase le pays, où les 9 différentes régions luttent déjà pour obtenir plus d’autonomie ou menacent de faire sécession. Les États voisins, tels que le Soudan, le Sud Soudan et l’Érythrée voisine de la région concernée sont très nerveux. Le secrétaire général de l’ONU, Antonio Guterres s’est dit « profondément alarmé par la situation » au Tigré, soulignant que «la stabilité de l’Ethiopie est importante pour l’ensemble de la Corne de l’Afrique ».