10.5 C
Geneva
Friday, May 24, 2024

Education: Protection called for

This year, the International Day for the Protection of Education from Attack was celebrated for the first time (September 9). This was an opportunity to draw attention to the plight of over 75 million children in need of urgent educational support. Some of the 35 countries concerned are located in the central Sahel region, where the situation is particularly worrying. Over 22,000 students, teachers and academics have been injured or killed in attacks on education during armed conflicts or situations of insecurity over the past five years.

It was a unanimous decision on May 28, 2020 by the United Nations General Assembly, calling on UNESCO and UNICEF to raise public awareness of the plight of millions of children living in countries affected by conflict, that led to the establishment of the International Day for the Protection of Education from Attack.

Qatar initiative

In fact, it was following a call to action by Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, mother of the Emir of Qatar, President of Education Above All (EAA) and advocate of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) that the resolution(A/RES/74/275) proclaiming the day was introduced by the State of Qatar and co-sponsored by 62 countries. It is now an opportunity to remind the international community, once a year, of the importance of protecting schools, pupils and teachers from attack. The resolution underlines the need to facilitate access to education in situations of armed conflict.

"While we work to eliminate illiteracy, there are those who actively work to spread it, as if they were systematically targeting everything and everyone behind human development. By failing to bring the perpetrators to justice, the international community - however unwittingly - has become effectively complicit." Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, President of Education Above All

Central Sahel

According to a new report published by the Global Coalition to Protect Education from Attack (GCPEA), the central Sahel has seen a significant spike in attacks on students, teachers and schools since 2018. There were more than 85 attacks on education in Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger between January and July 2020, despite Covid-19-related school closures between late March and May. In Burkina Faso and Niger, attacks more than doubled between 2018 and 2019, contributing to the closure of more than 2,000 schools. In Burkina, armed Islamist groups allied to al-Qaeda or the Islamic State have set fire to, looted and destroyed dozens of schools. In Mali, more than 60 attacks took place in 2019 alone, with more than 1,100 schools closed. 

Safety first and foremost

As schools in the central Sahel and around the world resume after Covid-19-related closures, GCPEA urges governments to ensure that education providers carry out risk assessments prior to reopening, and adopt appropriate security measures where necessary to reduce the risk of attacks on students and teachers. Where schools and universities cannot reopen safely, alternative and remote measures must be put in place. Currently, 105 states are signatories to the Safe Schools Declaration, opened for signature on May 20, 2015. This political commitment aims to protect students, educators, schools and universities in armed conflict through the implementation of concrete measures using the Guidelines for the Protection of Schools and Universities from Military Use during Armed Conflict.

On October 20, a virtual ministerial roundtable on the central Sahel will be held, sponsored by Denmark, Germany, the European Union and the United Nations. This will be a unique opportunity to firmly place the protection of education on the humanitarian agenda.

Education : Protection réclamée

0
49
Elève dans une classe au Burkina-Faso à Tanlouka, région du Centre Nord. Photo/GPE

Cette année, la Journée internationale pour la protection de l’éducation contre les attaques a été célébrée pour la première fois (9 septembre). Cela a été l’occasion d’attirer l’attention sur le sort des plus de 75 millions d’enfants qui ont besoin d’un soutient éducatif d’urgence. Une partie des 35 pays concernés sont situés dans la région du Sahel central où la situation est particulièrement inquiétante. Plus de 22.000 étudiants, enseignants et universitaires ont été blessés ou tués lors d’attaques contre l’éducation pendant des conflits armés ou des situations d’insécurité au cours des cinq dernières années.

C’est une décision unanime, le 28 mai 2020, de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, appelant l’UNESCO et l’UNICEF à sensibiliser le public au sort de millions d’enfants vivant dans des pays touchés par un conflit, qui a permis la mise en place de la Journée Internationale pour la Protection de l’éducation contre les attaques.

Initiative du Qatar

Dans les faits, c’est à la suite d’un appel à l’action de Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, mère de l’Emir du Qatar, Présidente de Education Above All (EAA) et défenseure des Objectifs de l’ONU pour le Développement Durable (ODD) que la résolution (A/RES/74/275) proclamant la journée a été présentée par l’État du Qatar et coparrainée par 62 pays. C’est désormais une opportunité de rappeler, une fois par an, à la communauté internationale qu’il est important de préserver les écoles, les élèves et les enseignants contre les attaques. La résolution souligne la nécessité de faciliter l’accès à l’éducation dans les situations de conflit armé.

« Alors que nous travaillons à éliminer l’analphabétisme, il y a ceux qui travaillent activement pour le répandre, comme s’ils ciblaient systématiquement tout et tous ceux qui sont à l’origine du développement humain. En ne traduisant pas les auteurs en justice, la communauté internationale – même involontairement – est devenue effectivement complice. » Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, Présidente de Education Above All

Sahel central

Selon un nouveau rapport publié par la Coalition mondiale pour la protection de l’éducation contre les attaques (GCPEA), le Sahel central a connu un pic important d’attaques contre les élèves, les enseignants et les écoles depuis 2018. On constate plus de 85 attaques contre l’éducation au Burkina Faso, au Mali et au Niger entre janvier et juillet 2020, malgré les fermetures d’écoles liées au Covid-19 entre fin mars et mai. Au Burkina Faso et au Niger, les attaques ont plus que doublé entre 2018 et 2019, contribuant à la fermeture de plus de 2.000 écoles. Au Burkina, des groupes armés islamistes alliés à Al-Qaïda ou à l’État islamique ont incendié, pillé et détruit des dizaines d’écoles. Au Mali, plus de 60 attaques ont eu lieu en 2019 seulement, avec plus de 1.100 écoles fermées. 

Assurer la sécurité avant tout

Alors que les écoles du Sahel central et dans le monde reprennent après les fermetures liées au Covid-19, la GCPEA exhorte les gouvernements à veiller à ce que les prestataires de services éducatifs procèdent à des évaluations des risques avant la réouverture, et adoptent des mesures de sécurité appropriées le cas échéant pour réduire les risques d’attaque des élèves et des enseignants. Lorsque les écoles et les universités ne peuvent rouvrir en toute sécurité, des mesures alternatives et à distance doivent être mises en place. Actuellement, 105 Etats sont signataires de la Déclaration sur la sécurité dans les écoles, ouverte à la signature le 20 mai 2015. Cet engagement politique vise à protéger les élèves, les éducateurs, les écoles et les universités dans les conflits armés grâce à la mise en place de mesures concrètes en utilisant les Lignes directrices pour la protection des écoles et des universités contre l’utilisation militaire durant les conflits armés.

Le 20 octobre, se tiendra une table ronde ministérielle virtuelle sur le Sahel central sponsorisée par le Danemark, l’Allemagne, l’Union Européenne et les Nations Unies. Ce sera une opportunité unique d’inscrire fermement la protection de l’éducation dans l’agenda humanitaire.