18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

WTO Management: The selection process continues

The sudden decision by the Director General of the World Trade Organization (WTO) to step down 1 year before the end of his term of office has prompted an immediate process of candidate selection. Consultations were recently held with member states to define the rules for the stages leading up to the consensus appointment of the new head of the institution. However, no agreement has been reached on the appointment of a deputy managing director to act as interim CEO.

In mid-July, the eight candidates* wishing to lead the WTO made their presentations and answered questions from the organization's General Council in Geneva. The campaign phase, currently underway, will come to an end on September 7. The process of narrowing down the list of candidates will then begin. Consultations led by the Chairmen of the General Council, Ambassador David Walker of New Zealand, the Dispute Settlement Body, Ambassador Dacio Castillo of Honduras, and the Trade Policy Review Body, Harald Aspelund of Iceland, will enable candidates to be eliminated. In this way, the number of candidates will be gradually reduced from eight to five, and to two for the final round.

Interim management

Of the four WTO deputy directors, the appointment of Karl Brauner from Germany as interim director seemed to be a foregone conclusion. The Nigerian deputy was automatically "eliminated" due to the candidacy of economist Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, of the same origin. The choice of a senior Chinese or American official did not seem appropriate, given the differences between the two countries. In the end, it was decided to extend the mandates of all the deputies in the absence of an agreement between the members. The United States reportedly tried to impose its national, Alan Wolff. According to the organization's spokesman, Keith Rockwell, the interim phase should last no more than two to three months.

Upcoming tasks

The next world trade chief's priorities will include re-establishing the functioning of the WTO's Dispute Settlement Body (DSB), which has been paralyzed due to the lack of replacement judges, as opposed by Washington, as well as preparing for the organization's 12th Ministerial Conference in Kazakhstan in 2021 and updating the WTO's rules.

* For the record, the eight candidates include three Africans (Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria), two Europeans (Moldavia, United Kingdom), one Asian (Republic of Korea), one Arab (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) and one South American (Mexico).

Direction de l’OMC : La sélection se poursuit

0
114
Bâtiment de l'Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC), côté lac Léman. Photo/CTB

La décision soudaine du directeur général de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC) de quitter ses fonctions 1 an avant le terme de son mandat, a entraîné la mise en place immédiate d’un processus de sélection de candidats. Des consultations ont récemment eu lieu avec les Etats-membre pour définir les règles des étapes devant aboutir à la désignation par consensus du nouveau dirigeant de l’institution. En revanche, aucun accord n’a été trouvé afin de désigner un directeur général adjoint pour exercer l’intérim.

A la mi-juillet, les huit candidats* souhaitant diriger l’OMC ont effectué leur présentation et ont répondu aux questions du Conseil général de l’organisation, à Genève. La phase de campagne, actuellement en cours, prendra fin le 7 septembre. Dès lors la procédure de réduction de la liste des candidats débutera. Des consultations menées par les présidents du Conseil général, David Walker, Ambassadeur de la Nouvelle-Zélande, de l’organe de règlement des différends, l’Ambassadeur Dacio Castillo du Honduras et de l’organe d’examen des politiques commerciales, Harald Aspelund de l’Islande, permettront d’éliminer des candidats. Ainsi le nombre passera progressivement de huit à cinq et à deux pour le tour final.

Exercice de l’intérim

Parmi les quatre directeurs adjoints de l’OMC, la désignation de l’allemand Karl Brauner pour exercer l’intérim semblait être acquise. L’adjoint nigérian était « éliminé » d’office à cause de la candidature de l’économiste Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala de même origine. Le choix du haut-fonctionnaire chinois ou américain ne semblait pas opportun en raison des différents entre les deux pays. Finalement il a été décidé de proroger les mandats de tous les adjoints en l’absence d’un accord entre les membres. Les Etats-Unis auraient tenté d’imposer leur ressortissant, Alan Wolff. Selon le porte-parole de l’organisation, Keith Rockwell, la phase intérimaire ne devrait pas durer plus de deux à trois mois.

Tâches à venir

Le prochain chef du commerce mondial aura parmi ses priorités le rétablissement du fonctionnement de l’Organe de règlement des différends (ORD) commerciaux entre pays, paralysé faute du remplacement des juges auquel s’oppose Washington, ainsi que la préparation de la 12e Conférence ministérielle de l’organisation au Kazakhstan en 2021 et la mise à jour du règlement de l’OMC.

* Pour mémoire, parmi les huit candidats on compte trois africains (Egypte, Kenya, Nigéria), deux européens (Moldavie, Royaume-Uni), une asiatique (République de Corée), un arabe (Royaume d’Arabie Saoudite) et un sud-américain (Mexique).