16.3 C
Geneva
Saturday, June 22, 2024

WTO Management: Women's duel in prospect

Triggered on May 14 by the announcement that the head of the World Trade Organization would be stepping down one year before the end of his mandate, the first stage of the selection process for a new Director General has just been completed, with five candidates selected, including three women.

On Friday September 18, the vast meeting room of the World Trade Organization (WTO) on the shores of Lake Geneva was a hive of activity. The Chairman of the General Council, Ambassador David Walker of New Zealand, and his two co-facilitators, Ambassadors Dacio Castillo of Honduras and Harald Aspelund of Iceland, revealed the names of the candidates who had received the broadest support from the organization's Members.

Process

On July 31, the WTO General Council decided that consultations with member states would take place over a two-month period, starting on September 7. The process comprises three stages. The first involves reducing the number of candidates from eight to five, then to two, before a consensus is reached to decide who will become the 7th Director-General of the World Trade Organization. 

Five candidates still in the running

During confidential consultations, the Troika members, Ambassadors Walker of New Zealand, Castillo of Honduras and Aspelund of Iceland asked each delegation a single question: "Who are your preferred candidates?" WTO members indicated that the five personalities expected to remain in the running were candidates Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala of Nigeria, Amina C. Mohamed of Kenya and Yoo Myung-hee of the Republic of Korea, as well as representatives Mohammad Maziad Al-Tuwaijri of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Liam Fox of the United Kingdom.

Second round of consultations

The second phase of consultations will begin on September 24 and run until October 6. During this time, members will be invited, during confidential consultations, to express their preferences with a view to reducing the number of candidates to two. Following this stage, another Heads of Delegation meeting will be convened, at which the names of the finalists will be announced to WTO members. The timetable for the third and final round of consultations will also be set on this occasion. The ultimate aim of this measured and clearly defined process is to obtain a consensus decision from the membership on the next Director-General.

According to diplomats accredited to the WTO, who wish to remain anonymous, the final duel will certainly be a female one. It would pit Nigerian representative Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala against Korean candidate Yoo Myung-hee.

Direction de l’OMC : Duel de femmes en perspective

0
128
Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC). Crédit photo @CTB

Déclenché le 14 mai après l’annonce du chef de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce de quitter ses fonctions, un an avant le terme de son mandat, la première étape du processus de sélection d’un nouveau Directeur général vient de s’achever en retenant cinq candidats parmi lesquels trois femmes.

Vendredi 18 septembre, une certaine effervescence régnait dans la vaste salle de réunion de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC) sise au bord du lac Léman à Genève. Le Président du Conseil général, l’Ambassadeur David Walker de Nouvelle-Zélande et ses deux co-facilitateurs, les Ambassadeurs Dacio Castillo du Honduras et Harald Aspelund de l’Islande, ont révélé les noms des candidats qui ont obtenu le plus large soutien de la part des Membres de l’organisation.

Processus

Le 31 juillet, le Conseil général de l’OMC avait décidé que les consultations des Etats-membres auraient lieu durant une période de deux mois, commençant le 7 septembre. Le processus comporte trois étapes. La première consiste à réduire le nombre de candidats de huit à cinq, puis à deux, avant qu’un consensus ne soit atteint pour décider qui deviendra le 7e Directeur général de l’Organisation Mondiale du Commerce. 

Cinq candidats encore en lice

Lors des consultations confidentielles, les membres de la Troïka, les Ambassadeurs Walker de Nouvelle-Zélande, Castillo du Honduras et Aspelund d’Islande ont posé à chaque délégation une seule question : « Quels sont vos candidats préférés ? » Les membres de l’OMC ont indiqué que les cinq personnalités qui devraient rester en lice sont les candidates Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala du Nigéria, Amina C. Mohamed du Kenya et Yoo Myung-hee de la République de Corée, ainsi que les représentants du Royaume d’Arabie Saoudite, Mohammad Maziad Al-Tuwaijri, et Liam Fox du Royaume-Uni.

Deuxième tour de consultations

La deuxième phase de consultations débutera le 24 septembre et se poursuivra jusqu’au 6 octobre. Pendant ce temps, les membres seront invités, lors des consultations confidentielles, à exprimer leurs préférences en vue de ramener le nombre de candidats à deux. À la suite de cette étape, une autre réunion des chefs de délégation sera convoquée durant laquelle les noms des finalistes seront annoncés aux membres de l’OMC. Le calendrier de la troisième et dernière série de consultations sera également fixée à cette occasion. L’objectif ultime de ce processus mesuré et clairement défini est d’obtenir une décision consensuelle des membres sur le prochain Directeur général.

Selon des diplomates accrédités auprès de l’OMC, qui souhaitent conserver l’anonymat, le duel final sera certainement féminin. Il opposerait la représentante nigériane, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, à la candidate coréenne, Yoo Myung-hee.