18.2 C
Geneva
Saturday, June 22, 2024

Culture Chanel, The woman who reads

"Culture Chanel, La femme qui lit", is a groundbreaking exhibition conceived by international curator Jean-Louis Froment, for Cà Pesaro in Venice, where books and artworks from Coco Chanel's Paris apartment are on display for the first time, until January 8, 2017. Nothing has changed in "Mademoiselle Chanel's" first-floor apartment on Rue Cambon 31. The walls of the mythical spiral staircase are still lined with mirrors, allowing Coco to see, without being seen, the models, the customers and the fashion show. Two distinct spaces: downstairs, the staging, upstairs, the workshops and she, in the center, the link between luxury and work.

The apartment has not changed. No one has dared touch the brown fabrics of the divans, the walls of faded Byzantine gold, the Chinese screens from Coromandel transformed into doors, the mirrors and the dark lacquered woodwork. As in the past, vases of freshly cut flowers, animals in bronze, wood, brass and stone, and numerous small sculptures, often acquired in pairs and placed symmetrically in mysterious arrangements, take pride of place. The numerous lion figurines testify to his love of Venice, but also recall his astrological sign. What's different is the number of books, many of which were carefully selected, packed and sent to Venice. Books, with luxurious leather bindings and chased gold titles, are the protagonists of the exhibition at the palazzo named Ca' Pesaro until January 8, 2017. It showcases a little-known aspect of Gabrielle Chanel's life and thought in the intimacy of her apartment. Donna che legge aims to show her unconditional love of reading.

These are not just any books, but volumes received from the hands of Cocteau, from Max Jacob, illustrated by Picasso himself or dedicated by Apollinaire. It's no coincidence that Jean-Louis Froment, specialist in contemporary art and curator as well as founder of Bordeaux's CAPC (a museum dedicated to experimentation), has also accompanied the careers of many artists, including Mario Merz and Daniel Buren,
Richard Long, among others, has taken an interest in her. A fervent defender of all works representing a form of resistance, of disobedience to the prevailing stupidity,
Jean-Louis Froment decided to dedicate this exhibition to Mademoiselle Chanel's personal library. Culture Chanel is the seventh chapter in a touring project planned and produced by the Maison, which has already made stops in various Asian and European countries, exploring the personal universe of one of the most emblematic women of the 20th century. Jean-Louis Froment is just the person to unravel "the Chanel rebus" and stage an exhibition that gives the keys and allows visitors to "penetrate the mysteries of this legend incarnate as an archaeologist would when discovering and opening an Egyptian tomb whose existence was known, without being able to imagine what it reveals".

Gabrielle Chanel's life story goes beyond the incredible. Her early years were not easy: poor family, itinerant salesman father, motherless and finally, abandoned in a convent. A few years later, she's a young woman courted by charming, cultured, wealthy, aristocratic men, but who can't marry her because of their different social classes.

We can recall the heartbreak for the greatest love of her life, Boy Capel, who married another woman for the same reasons. She was adored by artists (from Picasso to Picabia), poets (Cocteau, to name but one), writers and dancers (Diaghilev). Finally, the biographies of this eternal disobedient are full of anecdotes: not least the one about how she sacrificed her hair
after accidentally burning it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This radical and famous scissor stroke was then widely copied by many women. Changing women's heads was her trademark. She succeeded in convincing them to follow her for the rest. The change doesn't stop there. Everything gets shorter.
From haircuts, she moved on to skirt lengths, and another major revolution was the feminization of pants. The choice of fabrics was revisited.
She chose jersey, which until then had been used only for pyjamas and knickers. In this major stylistic purification, she abandoned anything that overloaded, cluttered or restricted a woman's movements. Gone were the big hats, corsets, pompoms and all those trinkets! Under her creative fingers, a new woman takes shape, a woman free to move elegantly in a world made for her.
world that's made for her.

Women are conquered. We can read all this in magnificent biographies, but what's missing is an analysis of the deep mechanisms of his mind, the links and short circuits that give rise to these changes. Jean-Louis Froment examines his personality
What's behind this name, synonymous with beauty and luxury the world over? Above all, how can we explain "Chanel Time"?
whose inspiration, hatched more than a century ago, nevertheless remains alive, timeless, never ceasing to renew itself as if driven by an energy that defies the wrinkles of time?"

CHANEL N°5 perfume bottle label Republication and enlargement Grained embossed paper CHANEL Patrimoine Collection, Paris ©Collection Patrimoine de CHANEL / photo Thierry Depagne.

How can we explain, for example, the Chanel N.5 fragrance that was unsurprisingly the subject of one of Jean-Louis Froment's explosive investigations at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris in 2013?
When it came out in 1921, the sleek bottle did away with the bulging bottles of the day. Another radical gesture from Coco: a graphic, minimalist bottle in drugstore glass.
The choice of typeface was inspired by the Swiss Dadaists, primarily Tristan Tzara. As for the essence itself - synthetic for the first time - it opens the door to a perfumed century. In fact, Coco was not launching a new perfume, but creating a ready-made, a cult object celebrated by Marilyn. "What I wear to bed? - Chanel N.5", painted by Warhol, is now one of the most sought-after items in the world.
The secret of this eternal youth? Jean-Louis Froment answers: "It lies in her relationships with artists, poets and writers. She learns the elements of structure
She doesn't steal their images, but their methods. That's why
for this reason, she will never give them the opportunity to substitute her in the
Coco is looking for ways of thinking, not products.
not products.

Culture Chanel, La femme qui lit

La rubrique est dirigée par Adelina von Fürstenberg, fondatrice de l’ONG «Art for the World» et curatrice internationale, récipiendaire du Grand Prix suisse d’art - Prix Meret Oppenheim 2016.

0
1332

« Culture Chanel, La femme qui lit », est une exposition inédite conçue par le commissaire international Jean-Louis Froment, pour le Cà Pesaro à Venise, où des livres et des oeuvres d’art provenant de l’appartement parisien de Coco Chanel sont exposés pour la première fois, jusqu’au 8 janvier 2017. Rien n’a changé dans l’appartement de «Mademoiselle Chanel» au premier étage, rue Cambon 31. Les murs du mythique escalier hélicoïdal sont toujours revêtus de miroirs permettant à Coco, de voir sans être vue, les mannequins, les clients et le défilé. Deux espaces distincts : en bas, la mise en scène, en haut, les ateliers et elle, au centre, lien entre luxe et travail.

L’appartement n’a pas changé. Personne n’a osé toucher aux tissus bruns des divans, aux parois d’or byzantin passé, aux paravents chinois de Coromandel transformés en porte, aux miroirs et aux boiseries en laque sombre. Comme à l’époque, trônent des vases de fleurs fraîchement coupées, des animaux en bronze, en bois, en laiton et en pierre, de nombreuses petites sculptures, souvent acquises par couple et placées symétriquement selon de mystérieux agencements. Les très nombreuses figurines de lions témoignent de son amour pour Venise mais rappellent également son signe astrologique. Ce qui change, c’est la quantité de livres dont une grande partie, soigneusement sélectionnée, a été emballée et envoyée à Venise. Des livres, aux luxueuses reliures de cuir et aux titres en or ciselé, sont les protagonistes de l’exposition au palais nommé Ca’ Pesaro jusqu’au 8 janvier 2017. Elle met en scène un aspect méconnu de la vie et de la pensée de Gabrielle Chanel dans l’intimité de son appartement. Donna che legge veut montrer ainsi son amour inconditionnel pour la lecture.

Ce ne sont pas des livres quelconques mais des volumes reçus des mains de Cocteau, de Max Jacob, illustrés par Picasso lui-même ou dédicacés par Apollinaire. Ce n’est pas un hasard si Jean-Louis Froment, spécialiste d’art contemporain et curateur ainsi que fondateur du CAPC de Bordeaux, (un musée dédié à l’expérimentation) et qui a également accompagné dans leur carrière de nombreux artistes comme Mario Merz, Daniel Buren,
Richard Long, entre autres, s’est intéressé à elle. Fervent défenseur de toutes œuvres représentant une forme de résistance, de désobéissance à la stupidité ambiante,
Jean-Louis Froment a décidé ainsi de dédier cette exposition à la bibliothèque personnelle de Mademoiselle Chanel. Culture Chanel est le septième chapitre d’un projet itinérant souhaité et produit par la Maison qui a déjà fait escale dans différents pays d’Asie et d’Europe, permet d’explorer l’univers personnel d’une des femmes les plus emblématiques du XXème siècle. JeanLouis Froment est la personne adéquate pour défaire «le rébus Chanel» et mettre en scène une exposition qui donne les clés et permet de «pénétrer dans les arcanes de cette légende incarnée comme le ferait un archéologue qui découvre et ouvre une tombe égyptienne dont on connaissait l’existence, sans pouvoir imaginer ce qu’elle décèle ».

La vie de Gabrielle Chanel va au-delà de la rocambolesque histoire de sa vie. Les premières années ne sont pas faciles: famille pauvre, père vendeur itinérant, orpheline de mère et pour finir, abandonnée dans un couvent. Quelques années plus tard, c’est une jeune femme courtisée par des hommes charmants, cultivés, riches, aristocrates mais qui ne pouvaient l’épouser en raison de leur différence de classe sociale.

On peut rappeler le crève-cœur pour le plus grand amour de sa vie, Boy Capel qui se maria avec une autre femme pour ces mêmes raisons. Elle a été adorée des artistes (de Picasso à Picabia), des poètes (Cocteau, pour n’en nommer qu’un) des écrivains et des danseurs (Diaghilev). Enfin, les biographies de cette éternelle désobéissante sont remplies d’anecdotes: notamment celle qui raconte comment elle a sacrifié sa chevelure
après l’avoir accidentellement brûlée.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ce radical et fameux coup de ciseaux a été ensuite largement copié par de nombreuses femmes. Modifier la tête des femmes a été, du reste, sa caractéristique. Elle a réussi à les convaincre de la suivre pour le reste. Le changement ne s’arrête pas là. Tout se raccourcit.
De la coupe des cheveux, elle passe à la longueur des jupes, autre grande révolution, les pantalons se conjuguent au féminin. Le choix des tissus est revisité.
Elle choisit le jersey qui jusqu’alors était utilisé uniquement pour les pyjamas et les culottes. Dans ce grand mouvement d’épuration stylistique, elle renonce à tout ce qui surcharge, encombre et réduit les mouvements de la femme. Aux oubliettes, les grands chapeaux, les corsets, les pompons et toutes ces babioles! Sous ses doigts de créatrice, une nouvelle femme prend forme, une femme libre de se mouvoir avec élégance dans un
monde qui est fait pour elle.

Les femmes sont conquises. On peut lire tout cela dans de magnifiques biographies mais ce qui manque, c’est l’analyse des mécanismes profonds de son esprit, des liens, des courts circuits qui donnent naissance à ces changements. Jean-Louis Froment s’interroge sur sa
personnalité et se demande : «que se cache-t-il derrière ce nom, synonyme de beauté et de luxe pour le monde entier? Surtout, comment expliquer «Le Temps Chanel»
dont l’inspiration, éclose il y a déjà plus d’un siècle, reste néanmoins vivante, intemporelle, ne cessant de se renouveler comme mue par une énergie qui fait fi des rides du temps?»

CHANEL N°5 perfume bottle label Republication and enlargement Grained embossed paper CHANEL Patrimoine Collection, Paris ©Collection Patrimoine de CHANEL / photo Thierry Depagne.

Comment expliquer, par exemple, ce parfum Chanel N.5 qui fut sans surprise l’objet d’une des enquêtes explosives de Jean-Louis Froment au Palais de Tokyo à Paris en 2013?
A sa sortie en 1921, la bouteille épurée a écarté les flacons bedonnants de l’époque. Encore un geste radical de Coco: flacon en verre de pharmacie, graphique et minimaliste.
Le choix du caractère typographique provenant des dadaïstes suisses, Tristan Tzara en premier lieu. Quant à l’essence-même – de synthèse pour la première fois- elle ouvre la porte à un siècle parfumé. En fait, Coco ne lance pas un nouveau parfum mais crée un ready made, un objet culte célébré par Marylin. «Ce que je porte au lit? – Chanel N.5», peint par Warhol, il est à l’heure actuelle, un des plus demandés au monde.
Le secret de cette éternelle jeunesse ? JeanLouis Froment répond: «Il se trouve dans ses relations avec les artistes, les poètes, les écrivains. Elle apprend à leur contact les
éléments de structure, elle ne leur vole pas leurs images mais leurs méthodes. C’est
pour cette raison qu’elle ne leur donnera jamais l’occasion de la substituer dans la
création de vêtements ou d’accessoires:Coco est à la recherche de mode de pensées
et non de produits.»