21.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Forgotten humanitarian crises in 2017

The humanitarian organization CARE has published a report on humanitarian crises that rarely make the headlines.

According to the study, entitled "Suffering in Silence", ten crises have been overlooked. These include crises in Africa (Eritrea, Burundi, Sudan, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Mali, Niger, Cameroon, Chad), Asia (North Korea, Vietnam) and Peru.

"We all know that a single photo has the power to draw the world's attention to a problem". Laurie Lee, Acting Secretary General of CARE International.

According to UNHCR statistics, the crises in Burundi, the Central African Republic, Mali and the Lake Chad Basin alone have uprooted almost 1.3 million children, women and men, forcing them to cross international borders as refugees.

The High Commissioner for Refugees, Filipo Grandi, notes that there is a direct link between media attention and funds allocated to humanitarian aid. Despite the tragic consequences for the lives of millions of people affected by conflict and displacement, the gap between humanitarian needs and available funds persists.

"The media play an essential role in drawing public attention to forgotten and neglected crises."

"The outlook for 2018 is frankly bleak, as there is little political will to resolve conflicts and tackle the root causes that fuel them - poor governance, growing impoverishment, inequality and climate change. Political leaders must step up efforts and take responsibility for tackling forgotten crises."

The UN is seeking $22.5 billion to help nearly 91 million of the 135 million people in urgent need. Media attention can help focus public attention on these needs.

Crises humanitaires oubliées en 2017

0
273
Aerial view of Gao, Mali. UN Photo/Harandane Dicko

L’organisation humanitaire CARE a publié un rapport consacré aux crises humanitaires qui font rarement la Une.

Selon cette étude, intitulée “Suffering in Silence”, dix crises ont été passées sous silence. Cela concerne celles qui prévalent dans certains pays africains (Erythrée, Burundi, Soudan, République centrafricaine, République Démocratique du Congo, Mali, Niger, Cameroun, Tchad) asiatiques (Corée du Nord, Vietnam) et au Pérou.

« Nous savons tous qu’une seule photo a le pouvoir d’attirer l’attention du monde sur un problème » Laurie Lee, Secrétaire générale par intérim de CARE International.

Selon les statistiques du HCR, les crises au Burundi, en République centrafricaine, au Mali et dans le bassin du lac Tchad ont déraciné à elles seules près de 1,3 million d’enfants, de femmes et d’hommes, et les ont poussés à franchir les frontières internationales en tant que réfugiés.

Le Haut Commissaire pour les réfugiés, Filipo Grandi, constate qu’il existe un lien direct entre l’attention médiatique et les fonds alloués à l’aide humanitaire. Malgré des conséquences tragiques pour la vie de millions de personnes touchées par les conflits et les déplacements, l’écart persiste entre les besoins humanitaires et les fonds disponibles.

« Les médias jouent un rôle essentiel pour attirer l’attention du public sur les crises oubliées et négligées. »

« Les perspectives pour 2018 sont franchement moroses, car il a peu de volonté politique pour résoudre les conflits et lutter contre les causes profondes qui les alimentent – mauvaise gouvernance, appauvrissement croissant, inégalité et changement climatique. Les dirigeants politiques doivent intensifier les efforts et assumer la responsabilité de lutter contre les crises oubliées. »

L’ONU recherche 22,5 milliards de dollars pour venir en aide à près de 91 millions de personnes parmi un total de 135 millions d’entre elles qui ont des besoins urgents. L’attention des médias peut aider à attirer l’attention du grand public sur ces besoins.