18.2 C
Geneva
Monday, April 15, 2024

Côte d'Ivoire: UN concern

The UN is concerned about post-election tensions and unrest in Côte d'Ivoire, which have caused several thousand people to flee to neighboring countries. Violent clashes erupted after Alassane Ouattara was elected president for a third term on October 31, which the opposition considers unconstitutional.

According to a spokesman for the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), over 8,000 Ivorians have now fled to neighboring countries, 60% of them children, some unaccompanied or separated from their parents. The sharp increase in flight movements in the space of a week is a cause for concern for humanitarian aid workers. In addition, according to the UN agency, some refugees have reported that they were initially prevented from leaving the country, and were therefore forced to take alternative routes to Liberia. Meanwhile, more than 500 Ivorians have also arrived in Ghana, Guinea and Togo. UNHCR is preparing to activate its joint contingency plans in the event of an acceleration in refugee movements. It plans to airfreight relief items to Liberia from its storage warehouse in Dubai.

Call for calm

The High Commissioner for Human Rights, Michelle Bachelet, has urged all parties in Côte d'Ivoire to refrain from any incitement to violence and to engage in constructive dialogue to resolve the difficult situation following the country's presidential elections. She expressed serious concern about the arrest of several opposition leaders - at least eight of whom are reportedly still in detention - and the deployment of security forces to the homes of others. Michelle Bachelet "urged political leaders on all sides to work together to ease tensions through dialogue - not brutal security measures and arrests". She also called for the right to freedom of peaceful assembly to be protected. In a televised address to the nation on Monday evening, President Ouattara invited his main opponent, Henri Konan Bédié, to "meet in the next few days for a frank and sincere dialogue with a view to restoring confidence". The two men met for 45 minutes on November 12. They appear to have agreed that peace must be preserved at all costs. Further discussions are expected in the coming days.

Fear of violence

Fears of an escalation of violence remain, ten years after the post-electoral crisis of 2010-2011. According to the UN's specialized agencies, the events of that time led to the deaths of 3,000 people, the internal displacement of over 1 million Ivorians and the arrival of 300,000 refugees in neighboring countries.

Côte d’Ivoire : préoccupation de l’ONU

0
171

L’ONU est préoccupé par les tensions post-électorales et les troubles en Côte d’Ivoire qui ont poussé plusieurs milliers de personnes à fuir vers les pays voisins. Des affrontements violents ont éclaté après l’élection présidentielle, le 31 octobre, d’Alassane Ouattara présidentiel pour un troisième mandat que l’opposition juge inconstitutionnel.

Selon un porte-parole du Haut-Commissariat en charge des Réfugiés (HCR), plus de 8.000 ivoiriens ont désormais fui vers des pays voisins dont 60% sont des enfants, certains non accompagnés ou séparés de leurs parents. La brutale augmentation des mouvements de fuite en une semaine inquiète les humanitaires. De plus, d’après l’agence onusienne des réfugiés ont signalé avoir été initialement empêchés de quitter le pays et, de ce fait, ont été obligés d’emprunter d’autres itinéraires pour rejoindre le Libéria. Parallèlement, plus de 500 Ivoiriens sont également arrivés au Ghana, en Guinée et au Togo. Le HCR s’apprête à activer ses plans conjoints d’urgence en cas d’accélération des mouvements de réfugiés. Elle prévoit d’acheminer par avion-cargo des articles de secours au Libéria, depuis leur entrepôt de stockage à Dubaï.

Appel au calme

La Haut-Commissaire aux droits de l’homme, Michelle Bachelet, a exhorté toutes les parties en Côte d’Ivoire à s’abstenir de toute incitation à la violence et à engager un dialogue constructif pour résoudre la situation difficile à la suite des élections présidentielles dans le pays. Elle a exprimé de sérieuses préoccupations concernant l’arrestation de plusieurs responsables de l’opposition – dont au moins huit seraient toujours en détention – et le déploiement des forces de sécurité au domicile d’autres personnes. Michelle Bachelet a « exhorté les responsables politiques de toutes les parties à travailler ensemble pour apaiser les tensions par le dialogue – et non par des mesures de sécurité brutales et des arrestations ». Elle a également demandé que le droit à la liberté de réunion pacifique soit protégé. Lundi soir, lors d’une adresse télévisée à la Nation, le Président Ouattara a invité son principal opposant, Henri Konan Bédié, à « une rencontre dans les tout prochains jours pour un dialogue franc et sincère en vue de rétablir la confiance ». Les deux hommes se sont vus le 12 novembre durant 45 minutes. Ils semblent s’être accordé sur le fait que la Paix devait, à tout prix, être préservée. D’autres discussions devraient avoir lieu dans les jours à venir.

Crainte de violences

La crainte d’une escalade des violences reste présente, dix ans après la crise post-électorale de 2010-2011. Selon les agences spécialisées des Nations Unies, les événements de l’époque avaient provoqué la mort de 3.000 personnes, le déplacement interne de plus d’1 million d’ivoiriens et l’arrivée de 300.000 réfugiés dans les pays voisins.